We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget prices with full service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands, Uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Budget prices with full service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Good online booking system. £50 a night for a twin room with breakfast is very good value. Rooms are not the corporate look but plenty of space and I like the proper bedside lamps . . The plenty of towels, spare pillows and blankets and shampoo, unlike a lot of budget hotels. Good bathroom with a decent shower and plenty of hot water.
Service is excellent, breakfast is freshly cooked and quickly served.

Location is good, less than 10 minutes from the station and the town centre

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunromin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    143
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
74
142
57
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We were due to stay in two singles in the sister hotel but I was phoned and it was explained that, due to some damage caused by a previous customer, one of the rooms wasn't available and was it okay if we were transfered to their other hotel. Everything had been thought through. The staff were aware of what had happened and were very polite and friendly. My room was upgraded. A street map was printed off for us to find the venue we were there to visit. Breakfast was good and my vegan son's needs accommodated. There is work being done to extend this hotel but the mess and noise was kept to a minimum - no drilling before 8:30am!
I will use this hotel again when I am in Huddersfield.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Good location.The rooms were a good size and clean and comfortable. Very large breakfast and the staff were friendly.Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

stayed here 3 nights in august. staff were very friendly and helpful. breakfast choice was very good but unfortunately sausages were poor quality. all food was cooked to order and always hot. rooms were rather outdated but were clean and beds were comfortable,towels changed daily.location good,only 5 minutes walk from town centre where there were.

plenty of pubs and restaurants. will be even better when extension is finished,(a bar will be included) would gladly stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The place was clean and comfortable and the staff were courteous and friendly. I will definitely use Cambridge Lodge again when I am next in Huddersfield

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

After having read positive reviews about this hotel was disappointed to find that reality was far from what i had read. Although the staff were friendly the hotel itself is very tired and not very clean. The room i stayed in with my son had both a single and double bed. The promised duvets which were mentioned on the hotel site were in fact sheets, blankets and a thin bedspread. The pillows were stained and not particularly pleasant to use. Although the bedding on the single bed seemed clean, the bedspread on the double had a number of stains - blood, coffee and some tomato pips! Not nice. The furniture is dated and although functional is not really a good enough standard.
We stayed in room 4 which is near to Reception and therefore quite noisy due to people coming and going at night. Through the wall from the room is an area where the tumble dryer and washing machine are sited. After having put up with the noise of tumble dryer until after 10pm, i had to ask at reception for them to turn it off in order for me to get any chance of sleep. They then moved the dryer away from the wall and it continued until way after 1am. I was then woken at 6am when the washing machine was turned on.
We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel as the dining room was quite cramped. The staff were accommodating with regard to left luggage, although this consisted of putting our bags in an unlocked food storage cupboard in the dining area.
I would not stay here again and would find it hard to recommend it to anyone. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0u43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Good location 5 mins walk from town centre, free parking, easy check in, free wifi, comfy bed, tv, very clean and well looked after, friendly and efficient staff, big hearty breakfast. What more do you need?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHunter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing