We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hotel...a little gem ...try it...you wont be disappointed”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a great hotel...a little gem ...try it...you wont be disappointed”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed here just last weekend...the hotel has recently been refurbished and is absolutely lovely... couldn't fault it all all...attention to detail in the rooms is excellent...quality furniture and fittings...the power shower was amazing..but there is no bath..so that might put some off! but not me.. maybe some rooms do have one...best ask if it would bother you....the breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very friendly indeed...the location perhaps not the best..the area surrounding it is a bit run down but if you have to stay in this area...stay here..and you won't notice the edges! it isn't too far from the town centre, easy access to railway station and the football stadium (5-10 mins max) previous reviews have referred to 'dodgy dealings' but this is from old...dispense with that notion and enjoy the new....

Room Tip: ring and ask if you want a bath in your room...i'm not sure if they have any but worth ringing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillibetisqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    147
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
78
147
59
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Never judge a book by it's cover - the outside pics do NOT do this place any justice whatsoever!

Stayed here on the 4th Feb 2012 - came up for a football away day so in all honesty the hotel didn't need to particularly wonderful as it was just a place to crash after a full day / night of drinking.

However, upon arrival we were met by some super friendly staff, they place has just had a full refurb and they showed us to our rooms

I have spent plenty of time in hotels on business trips etc and paid more than double for places of 1/2 the quality!

Twin room £27.50 each with a full English breakfast is nothing more than the bargain of the year - the standard of the rooms was exceptional, a power shower that cleaned my teeth better than me and a room fully equiped with WiFi, Fridge, Iron, Hairdryer, etc etc etc

The staff were very friendly and attentive as well

Book it and book it NOW!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed at Cambridge Lodge as I was returning to Huddersfield after my last connecting train homewards. The hotel was within easy reach of the town centre, and the gentleman on reception was courteous and helpful. The room was very well cleaned, well decorated and well furnished. The free WiFi allowed me to catch up with emails and social media updates, with all necessary log-on information provided in the room. On checking out, the (different) gentleman on reception dealt with my checking out in a prompt, professional and friendly manner, enquiring after my stay. If I will be requiring to 'overnight' in Huddersfield again, I shall certainly be returning to the Cambridge Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearded B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Coast
Level Contributor
291 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Mature couple stayed two nights weekend Nov 2010, forgot to do review until now. Family run(three generations) concern ofering clean basic accommodation, en suite, handily placed for station. Very comfortable beds(we we allocated a family room so lots of space), rather old telly and furniture, useful tea making equipment, a bit chilly in the room but it was that unexpectedly snowy weekend last November. Excellent, friendly staff service, breakfast excellent of its type, nothing pretentious just cooked to order full English(or various sorts of eggs) after cereals/juice, tea/coffee and toast, plus large basket of fresh oranges and bananas -most attractive and very welcome. Plenty of fresh milk to drink for lads with hangovers on sunday morning. Outstanding value for money. Long may they flourish

Room Tip: All quiet in an interesting historic area of Huddersfield
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyPNorthEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for almost two weeks. Full English breakfast, free Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities included. It's all for 40 GBP / night which is a great value for that service (I've stayed at more expensive hotels but in many of them the quality of service was in a lower level than in this hotel). Staff is very friendly and helpful, I've never had any reason to complaint.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpg_magician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I arrived with a huge suitcase and the reception staff opened the fire exit door just for ease of getting to the room.
It was great after just flying in from Doha and ease of check in was great.
The room was spacious with2 beds in ( double and a single).
Tea and coffee was provided and free Wifi which was great.
Unfortunately, the bed was not so comfortable and the area was not nice, which brought the hotel down. There was noise and people hanging around outside at all hours from the council housing centre and a bit off putting when arriving at night and they were still people aoutside when I left at 7.45 am.
I can't fault the hotel ( except the bed) but a bit scary when walking out at night on the street when there are people hanging around outside frothe community housing. I was there on a Sunday so don't know what it would be like on a Friday or Saturday night. It's a shame as the staff, and accomadation I would recomend wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: get a room away from the road and at the back of the hotel, preferably upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, Uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Good online booking system. £50 a night for a twin room with breakfast is very good value. Rooms are not the corporate look but plenty of space and I like the proper bedside lamps . . The plenty of towels, spare pillows and blankets and shampoo, unlike a lot of budget hotels. Good bathroom with a decent shower and plenty of hot water.
Service is excellent, breakfast is freshly cooked and quickly served.

Location is good, less than 10 minutes from the station and the town centre

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunromin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
3.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing