We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Staff were klass ash the batman he was good fun he has good banter there was 16 Geordies and the hotel was perfect for us very stylist & very very up to date and clean would Deffo recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jridley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    151
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
79
149
61
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I'm so glad I booked this hotel. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were immaculate with a fridge, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, safe and fantastic bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable. The parking was covered with a lift to reception. Soooo much better than a tired old travelodge and 5 minutes walk from Huddersfield train station. All staff were friendly and we were given a warm welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havenholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Barrios, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Having known this place in its days as a virtual doss house I was very surprised that indeed the reviews of this regenerated hotel were in the main correct.
This new hotel is clean comfortable and I could not fault my room-single with a king sized bed ,tea/coffee making facility, free wi-fi( I can't believe the amount some hotels charge for this service which to them is free.). The staff were helpful and cheerful. Location so near the centre was perfect and ample parking a bonus.
The only criticism I had was that there was no comfortable seating in the reception area. The large bar looked more like a cafeteria with high tables and upright chairs-and 2 large screen televisions. It would be better for this to be half and half sofa/easy chair low table seating.

Room Tip: some rooms are quite a walk from the lift so check your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninajp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

just thought i had to write about one of the best hotels i have stayed in. Stayed for two nights. The staff were the most curteous and friendly i think i have come across. The room was very comfortable with a super kingsize bed,television,full size fridge, tea and coffee and a great bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and my husband said it was the best curry he had ever tasted. All the staff and i mean all were lovely and so helpful, they always had a smile on their face. They arranged taxis for us and gave lots of good advice about the area. The hotel is situated in a very central location, only a 5 min walk into the city centre, and a fifteen minute walk to the john smith stadium if your going to see the rugby as we were. We travelled to holmfirth on the sat night to the picturedome this cost £12 each way. The breakfast is cooked to order and it was very tasty. The hotel is spotless throughout.
We would like to say a big thankyou to everyone for making our stay.
Best wishes
sheila & tony wolkowski

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilawolkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night in the Hotel. Brilliant place, very helpful friendly staff. Very clean and tidy. When we got to our room, we found that it hadn't been cleaned from the previous guests. But the staff were onto it straight away, and after a complementary drink in the bar we were in our room within 15 minutes

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webbohullfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here on March the 9th 2013. Very impressed with the staff and the hotel, nothing was too much trouble. The bar area was very nice, had a fab time with irish guests in the early hours on sunday morning, breakfast was included service here too was very good. Room was fab clean bathroom too. Modern. will definitely come here again. booked pm late rooms great price too!

Room Tip: Family room number 15 two doubles and a single good size bath/shower not much of a view but it was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed for work for 5 weeks Mon-Fri and was very happy with this hotel. The rooms were recently refurbished, very comfortable and were equipped with a full size fridge which is a real bonus when spending so much time in a hotel. The staff were very friendly and competent. The only thing is that the food wasn't perhaps as good as it could be however still really good value for money. The hotel has a separate area for a contract with the DSS however this did not affect our stay at all (we were a group of 6 colleagues all styling there.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing