We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would 100% recommend”
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would 100% recommend”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean and very nice attentive staff. Good car park and handy to have a fridge in the room. Excellent shower and the breakfast offered a good selection and very well organised.

Kelly Brogan

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    151
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
79
149
61
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

This is one of those rare hotels: one that is very reasonable in price,provides very good service, and is only a 7 minute walk from town. The room was upgraded and the staff were friendly.
My only quibble with this hotel is the bedsheets were very scratchy on my skin. That said it's the only thing I can comet up with to criticise on a very good one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTURNER300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having stayed at several places in Huddersfield over the years, the Cambridge is by far the best. Seven or eight minutes walk from the railway station (plus plenty of space for car parking) and you are assured of an attentive and friendly welcome with bags carried to room. Rooms modern, comfortable, spotlessly clean and airy. Splendid breakfasts too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

When I say it is a terriers hop, walk, and skip to town, I mean it. On Google maps I thought this place was close, it wasn't. The area walking around isn't the best, if you are on foot. They did have the best breakfast I'd say out of all the places I stayed at. One thing I must say, this isn't good for the elderly, a massive hill you have to walk up and down to the hotel, it is on a hill.
I do recommend going there for happy hr at the bar, friendly bar tenders there.
If you can stay actually in the town center, do it, if not, and all else fails, then go here I guess.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I spent a night at this hotel with my family and the service was faultless. The rooms were excellent very clean and nicely furnished, lots of car parking all with CCTV monitored from reception.

This hotel was good value for money, breakfast was great with a good choice. We were a little late in getting there due to a late night but there was still plenty of freshly cooked food, good fresh fruit and a fruit salad.

I had a flat tyre when I came to leave and staff leaving after their shift offered to help change it, no need as my husband had it in hand, but the offer was a nice touch.

I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family.

Room Tip: The family room we had easily and comfortably sleeps 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I have just been to the Huddesfield Food Festival, and we have spent two very comfortable nights at the the Cambridge we can honestly say that we could find no faults at all from the minute we booked in to checking out, the young lady on reception was lovely, the room number 31 was spotless, with the queen size bed and very well presented bathroom, the staff couldn't do enough and the breakfast which was cooked fresh to order was excellent will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and also the food festival was brilliant on the whole a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireHumphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were booked into the Egerton Guest House, and had driven over seven hours on one of the hottest days this year only to find that drunks had trashed the rooms and we couldn't stay there. However the staff had booked us into their sister hotel, the Cambridge Hotel, instead. There we found friendly staff, good rooms and air conditioning, much to our great relief. Sizeable fridge and TV, and very comfortable bed. I would have preferred a bath with power shower but at least everything seems fresh and new. I didn't like the breakfast room - very noisy, busy and hot with an open kitchen - not the least relaxing. The location was very convenient and I didn't feel in the least unsafe. I would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it several times.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trakette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing