We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Was in Huddersfield for a family function and stayed for one night. The hotel is very clean, good quality rooms with everything you need (nice not to have to hunt for an iron, every room has one) and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    143
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
74
142
57
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The location of the hotel is good if you want to be near the centre of the town. I found the place to be modern, basic in places and the staff very pleasant and made you feel welcome throughout the length of my stay. The room was comfortable although I’m not sure that there is a need for a full size fridge which may be useful if you happen to be a family and are out with packed lunches in the day. Quality of the meals available in the evening are good – nothing outstanding but good quality pub food really may well be the best description. The 2 course and 3 course meals at £14.95 and £17.95 inc a large glass of wine were good value. Breakfast on the other hand was a bit different. Whilst there is a good and varied choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts etc I found the cooked breakfast disappointing. Apart from eggs it's almost buffet style but the order is plated for you and brought to the table – my only comment is that the fried eggs were very greasy as were the sausages, which seemed to be cheap, full of cereal and lacking any decent flavour which is a pity given the usual quality and availability of local produce. Other egg options may have been OK but one cooked breakfast was enough for me.

Given the price the hotel is good value. The majority of guests during my stay seemed to be there through work although it does tend to be at the non professional end of the spectrum which is probably a reflection of the price and value the hotel pitches itself at.

If there was an overall rating of good then that's what I would have put but in truth it better than average but not up to being very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Went for a 1 night stay for a friends birthday. The hotel was spotless, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, rooms were brilliant and the breakfast was lush.

Highly recommended, cant wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stopped here for a night after watching the football at the nearby John Smith's stadium. Very handy for wandering into the town centre for a few beers at the Head of Steam and a meal at a nearby restaurant. Service very friendly, the place feels brand new, very clean and comfortable. Plentiful, free car parking too. Excellent value for the price - £55 for the room only. What's not to like?!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are in the roof so have skylights and a slope to the ceiling but are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonALeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

went to watch Leicester city & decided to stay in Huddersfield so booked in here & couldn't of picked a better place,lovely lay out,food excellent,bedrooms clean & tidy,staff very very friendly & 24 hour bar so overall would recommend to anyone who has to stay overnight in Huddersfield

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed here 3 nights a week between March and October 2013, and highly recommend it. Excellent service - staff prepared to go the extra mile, large, clean and comfortable rooms, and a good location. The only negative for me? The cooked breakfast wasn't great. Stick to cereal/porridge/toast.

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of reception, as you look at it, are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smith1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Rang in to ask if they have any rooms available they sounded over the fone really delighted i asked them how much would it be and they said 60 pound so i said fair enough once visited the place they asked for a further 100 pound deposit

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kasim1likee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing