We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection, at an affordable price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection, at an affordable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came to Huddersfield for my birthday. Was told by some friends to stay here as it was a great place, initially was sceptical about the hotel. But decided to take the plunge. Can honestly say it was been the most enjoyable experience of my life. Great service from the moment I walked in to check in right up until the time I checked out and left. Rooms cleaned to perfection. Great meals, especially the breakfast. Really friendly staff. If you plan on going to Huddersfield, I would strongly recommend staying here, you can't go wrong with it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    143
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
74
142
57
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I booked this hotel ofr a one night stay on 24 June 2014 as I was visiting Huddersfield with my daughter for a university open day. We had a twin room with breakfast for two which came in at a very reasonable £65.
The room was comfortable and well appointed, good decor and furniture with a flat screen TV, kettle etc.

The hotel is situated just off the ring road very near the city centre (and university!). We had dinner in the restaurant - the food was very good, hot, tasty and reasonably priced (3 course meal with a glass of wine was just under £20).

The staff were very pleasant and helpful - I got directions to the university from one of them,

Breakfast is a buffet - with all of the usual things available cereal, fruit, yoghurts, cooked food etc etc. My only complaint was that the coffee was instant but that didn't spoil the stay by any means.

All in all a very good hotel - excellent value for money. I would definitely stay again (if my daughter decides to settle on Huddersfield for university!)

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet side road so room choice didn't seem to matter - we had room number 1 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbowsix1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Have Been staying here for 7 months and come to my end of my stay, and I must say I have been well looked after, the staff are amazing made me feel very welcome got to know them well, food spot on never had a bad meal, plenty of parking , rooms are well set out, beds are comfy showers are fantastic can not fault this place will miss the place and the staff will defiantly stop here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bate38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Thurrock - England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is situated just off the Ring Road around Huddersfield and is within easy walking distance of the City Centre. Although we had a Top Floor Room with only a velux window in the roof, the room was clean, well equipped and wqe both got a good nights sleep. The Bar and Restaurant were fine and the cost of Breakfast was very good value for money. I would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: The Hotel is on a Hill. Make sure you give your Registration Number to reception to avoid and parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pete&Hev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is a well run clean hotel close to the centre of Huddersfield. Staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel has a restaurant and bar; there is plenty of parking. Breakfast is substantial. I booked a single room via a booking site.The picture on the site clearly shows a large bed in a spacious room. On arrival I was told the singles are in the loft! If I wanted a similar room to the one in the picture I must pay a further £15 per night:which I did.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We nomally stay in an inn at the other end of town.but as full on this occasion found the Cambridge at a reasonable price.Although the area is not the most attractive to stay the hotel offers everything for a mid market stay.he interiors have recently been refurbished but most importantly the staff attitude and approach to their customers was first class and all were a credit to their management and the industry.We wii definitely look to stay again on our next visit north.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from a one night break at The Cambridge and was pleasantly surprised..for a reasonably priced hotel it was very clean, comfortable and well run nice breakfast and a lovely little area for sitting outside if you want and a very nice safe car park well away from the road.It was quiet and just a short walk away from the centre of Huddersfield -couldn't fault it really and will be back next time we have another weekend in Huddersfield and recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillwoodhead72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing