We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch your duvets!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huddersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Titanic Spa Apartments
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
saddleworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch your duvets!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a recent stay for 1 night for my daughters birthday with 2 friends.
Firstly the good points were reception staff were helpful & welcoming & the food was excellent probably the best part of the experience for us.
The not so good points were the pool is far too cold & the jacuzzi is poor, there are not enough beds to sit on round the pool & the floor round the pool area was greasy & grubby. The robes could do with replacing they are tatty.
On entering our room which smelt of cigarette smoke ( ours friends next to us did also) the radiator would not come on even when we turned it to full so the room felt cold. On going upstairs it felt too warm as the towel rail was far too hot ( this was the case all night long) & you could not even touch it!
Now a warning to you all check your actual DUVET there may be something NASTY on it I discovered by chance to my horror. There was a huge brown disgusting stain on it & the spare one in the cupboard was not much better, in fact looked like blood stains on that! We complained at reception & ok the maid came with another one & said sorry but then told me it was caused by being in a cupboard that had leaking pipes!! Yeah right!! I think we all knew what it was!! The photo uploaded is actually the spare one mine was far worse!!
On checking out the next morning the 'duty manager/ customer services manager' came out to see us after we had requested to see someone & to be honest if she is the customer services manager she needs to go on a new management training course!!
She was not bothered one bit whether I put this report on trip advisor or not ( with photo) as I told her I would!! She was not willing to offer a small token of goodwill for our distressing experience all would've been forgiven if she had. Bet she wouldn't like to get in a bed with a wee stained duvet & as for her telling me to email her with the complaint well what for Rebecca? you were not willing to deal with us there & then so too late now! The offer of going back was too pathetic we will not be returning!!!!
Remember check your duvets!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gill1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNHud, Guest Relations Manager at Titanic Spa Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear gill1962
We are sorry to read your review of these aspects which you have been unhappy with during your visit.
During your experience at Titanic Spa there has only been one issue brought to our attention, which was immediately rectified and you were happy with this resolution. Unfortunately as the team and Duty Manager were not made aware of any other complaint which you now raise on your review, it is regrettable we have not been allowed the opportunity to rectify these positively during your experience.
We do welcome feedback through all methods to review the experience whether this is through Trip Advisor or other methods of social media.

Kind Regards
Customer Services
Customerservices@titanicspa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    79
    24
    18
    13
See reviews for
57
72
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having previously enjoyed a stay at Titanic I was beyond disappointed by my recent visit with a group of friends all of whom have previously visited Titanic some as many as eight times.

Having looked forward to the treatments booked it is fair to say the same are hugely misrepresented given that out of the six in our group several of us received a substandard treatment at least 10 minutes short in time .

I was also appalled by the decline in hygiene standards since my last visit as I watched in horror as a waiter stood in the Bistro scratching his face and scalp before then delving into the marshmallow jar to add a hand full of marshmallows to my hot chocolate.... Yum!

The evening meal was of a very poor standard and several meals had to be sent back. The presentation was lacking and had most certainly been thrown together . One particular meal was served without some if the advertised ingredients when this was brought to the attention of the waitress she proceeded at the requesting the"chef" to deliver the missing cold ingredients on a saucer to the table! Obviously making a fresh meal with the advertised ingredients was too much to ask not least to offer an alternative!

In summary the bistro staff are poorly trained if at all and the staff at the front desk unhelpful in dirty uniforms . Any specific requests we had made prior to our arrival were ignored
in so far as we requested an early lunch we didn't get it! We requested a large apartment and didn't get it!

We requested staggered Treatment times and didn't get them they were all at the back end if the day. Some were changed at out request which poses the question why they simply weren't booked as requested in the first place just more aggravation for the customer!
We requested afternoon tea at 2.30 this being the only time the group was together due to treatment times and they couldn't accommodate that either as afternoon tea doesn't start until 3pm! Too much trouble obviously!

Cost cutting in treatment times!

Substandard food, appalling food hygiene and inadequate customer service would summarise my titanic experience!

Having raised each of these issues with the "customer service manger" on checkout and wasting an hour of our time we were reassured how seriously titanic takes these matters and told if we could just settle our bar bill before we left they would look into our complaint and get back to us!! Disappointing to say the least that a bill of £130 against the £1200 the group had paid for the overnight stay with additional treatments was the primary concern of the so called customer service manager rather than attempting to satisfactorily resolve the issue!

To date they have offered return entry to the spa... Why would we be bothered to waste our time or £10 back per individual for the poor evening meal which frankly I consider to be somewhat of an insult to me and embarrassing to them!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielledavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BNHud, Guest Relations Manager at Titanic Spa Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
We have read your review of Titanic Spa following your visit.

During the visit only one member of the group came forward about a minor service issue which was rectified immediately, which the member of the party was happy with and accepted. We pride ourselves on our service standards however, regrettably if we are not given the opportunity to resolve service issues onsite, then we may not be able to positively resolve any complaint. On this occasion the group chose to take their whole experience and at no point came forward during their visit to speak to a Duty Manager immediately about any disappointment and only reported small service issues on check out.

It is always disappointing when we read reviews of this nature, especially before we have been afforded the time to resolve, whilst we don't always get it right its what we do about it that counts. Should the review be a complaint Titanic Spa will only respond to it is based on the complaint at the time of their experience.

We welcome clients to use Trip Advisor or any other form of social media as a way of a review of their experience.

Kind regards
Customer Services
customerservices@titanicspa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This place is a unique place in that the spa, although you can go for the day, has the great advantage of having apartments attached to it. The spa iitself is what you'd expect from any spa, with lovely treatment rooms, friendly staff and great products. The swimming pool although large is nothing special (spa like) and there weren't enough loungers to lie on. The only downside was the relaxatuion room which had bean bag type 'beds' to lounge about on or bench style seating. There were just two loungers in cubicles - which I'd have preferred had one been available. There was also alot of chatting and giggling, which didn't lend to relaxation and I therefore left to go and relax in my apartment......wow the apartments were a great surprise the moment we opened the door. We had a two bedroome apartment for me and my mum, with ensuite in one bedroom and a lovely bathroom too. The lounge is quite spectacular and huge floor to ceiling windows with great views. It was April when we went and there had been a heavy snow fall, which added to the beauty of the surrounding hills. There was a balcony attached to one of the bedrooms aswell as the dining area. The kitchen is well equiped, but obviously we had our evening dinner included so did not need to use it, but it would be a great asset is you were to stay for longer than one night. A basic continental breakfast was left in a basket for the next morning. The lounge was also well equiped and the whole apartment tastfully furnished and it was spotless. I really want to go back with friends to enjoy the apartment more and also in warmer weather.

Room Tip: I assume all the apartment are the same. We had a two bedroomed apartment on the 3rd floor. No noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in feb, first impressions were lovely reception and very nice staff ! We couldn't check in our apartment till 2.30pm but you can use all facilities from 10.30 and your bags are put in your room for you when the room is ready ! Your are given a schedule of the day for your lunch, treatments ect all the timings are perfect and everything is explained well and you can be shown around ! Well the spa is absolutely out of this world ! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would def recommend and return ! The apartments were nice, light and spacious only issue we had was the couch was not comfy at all but that's personal preference I guess and I would of like some facial products in the room but other than that a great stay ! The food was very nice and service was excellent !! Overall the spa is very relaxed and chilled and the relaxation lounge is a must ! The treatment I had ( an aromoplastie facial ) was lovely and peaceful !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmalou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned, 02/02/14, from amazing weekend break at Titanic Spa. Would like to say huge thank you to Amy and her amazing team who worked so hard to give all EIGHT of us a wonderful weekend break for my friends bday. Staff and food all brilliant, without exception, but special mention for Kirsty, our lovely waitress and Cassie, who gave me a lovely massage and pedicure. (Didn't want to mention to her that I am a beauty therapist too, but was very impressed by high standards in all the treatments I had.) We were so well looked after, staff very friendly, facilities brilliant and our apartments fantastic. So light, roomy and well equipped and huge!! We all want to live there. We all came away feeling truly pampered and RELAXED. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Our suite on the side of the stream was wonderfully light and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120debbied123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Overall a really enjoyable relaxing overnight stay at Titanic Spa.

The positives
Staff we're very welcoming. Food was delicious. Amazing full body massage treatment. Very relaxing stay. The apartment was very comfortable, comfy beds, hot powerful clean shower, great views from our room.

The 'could be better'
All facilities were fab but could have been cleaner. One of the steam room was not the best in terms of smell, random empty water cones in the steam rooms and wet cushions in quiet room- basics that could have been dealt with easily. Also our treatment time ( a full body massage) was at lunch which was bad planning as this meant we weren't able to use the other facilities without losing the effect of the oils that had been lathered over us. Overall better attention to little details like the above would enhance the experience from good to amazing.

Oh and never trust the sat nav getting to the venue- mine literally showed me the highs and lows of the Huddersfield hills :/

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reena000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Just spent an overnight stay at the Tiranic Spa in Hudesfield. Very enjoyable it was to. I had a back massage it was so good. Apartment, Restarant and facilities were very good. Pool could of been a little warmer. But it didn't spoil our stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayholics1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
20.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
19.5 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
18.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titanic Spa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titanic Spa Apartments

Property: Titanic Spa Apartments
Address: Low Westwood Lane, Huddersfield, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Titanic Spa Apartments Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing