We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'All fur coat and no knickers' (as my granny would have said)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Suites
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“'All fur coat and no knickers' (as my granny would have said)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I sooo wanted to be able to give the Heritage Lofts 5 out of 5! They're local for a start and I like to support local business where I can and I stayed in the Oriental room for one night by myself as a bit of a treat so I wanted to love it!

Don't get me wrong - they're not terrible. It's just they don't quite live up to the hype.

At first glance it was really lovely and beautifully done. 5 years ago it probably was. Now though it's all a bit tired. The faux leather on the sofa is all cracked and peeling. The bath has a crack as does the basin. the shower looked as if someone has spilt acid in the tray and the water pressure from the huge overhead shower is rubbish.

The bed is fantastic - to look at but the bed linen was cheap and bobbly.

Didn't use the kitchen facilities.

I must refute an earlier review though - it's EASY to get in and simple to find your room. AND they give you a 24 hour number to call if you need help - though I didn't use it.

A bit more attention to detail and a bit of refub needed I think.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planningmyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageYorkshire, General Manager at Heritage Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I am so sorry to hear your experience wasn't what you had hoped. Rest assured, we are gradually refurbishing the suites - the original Rumboat and Amour suites are now known as Scarborough & Wellington and have been refreshed and updated with new furniture and décor throughout. We have also had new furniture in the Studios and we are gradually replacing the stand up showers with wet rooms.

We plan to carry out a refurbishment in all the suites by March 2014, and, as a result of your comments, I have today authorised the replacement of the settee in The Orient. Many thanks for your feedback, and I really do hope you will consider a return to Heritage when the changes have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
30
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here when visiting friends for the weekend. The location was ideal and the building was stunning. The check in process was great too, as was the price.

However, a few things let it down:
1. No towels - and as there was no reception there was no way to get any
2. TV channels - ok if you want bbc news or parliament, not even terrestrial channels available
3. Tv remote didn't work
4. The bed was awful, sunk in the middle
5. There is a bar downstairs which was very noisy nail midnight
6. No hob, so if you want anything that doesn't go in a microwave then you better think again.

This being said, we would probably stay again when up in Huddersfield, although we may try a b&b in a pub instead.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all nice, the studio we had was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageYorkshire, Guest Relations Manager at Heritage Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi ninjakitty,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your review. Feedback is essential to us as a company, and we are always striving to improve our services and guest relations.

I can only apologise for the troubles that you experienced during your stay at Heritage, and please note that we are now looking into the problems with the television and remote to ensure that this does not happen again.
Although reception is not open throughout the weekend, we have housekeepers on site and also a member of staff on-call for the duration of the weekend. You should have been provided with a mobile number written on the back of your key and in your booking envelope. It would have been possible to deliver more towels for you, had you rang this number. Although, I agree that the fact that you weren't provided with towels is inexcusable and appropriate action will be taken to ensure this is not repeated.

It states on our website that the Studio apartments do not include a hob, however if you had chosen to stay in a themed or one-bedroom apartment you are provided with a full kitchenette complete with hob.

We hope that you do decide to stay with us again when visiting Huddersfield, and that you would find your stay more enjoyable.

Kind Regards,

Krystina Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here for one night after a wedding reception, and found it to be very good. The bed was very comfortable, the small kitchen area was a great bonus and the room large and airy with great views. Only one downside, the shower room must have been designed by a man! There was one large shower head, the type whereby you have to wash your hair - if you don't want to, then tough! It gets soaked anyway. A double shower head with a directable shower head would make a lot more sense! Luckily, we had booked two rooms and the second one had a double-headed shower, although the water poured on onto the floor from this one! Apart from that, we were very pleased with the rooms here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSefton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageYorkshire, Guest Relations Manager at Heritage Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi Liz,

Thank you very much for your review. We love to hear your feedback as we are constantly aiming to improve our service.
Thank you for your comments about the shower - we are now looking into purchasing shower caps for each of our rooms.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again, and look forward to meeting you in the near future.

Krystina Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I booked the themed rum boat apartment on late rooms which cost £65, when I walked in the apartment I was stunned at the spacious and well decorated look, the kitchen/living area was lovely and had a great hammock chair which was great fun, bathroom was stylish and well equipped, in the bedroom a stunning four poster bed, I usually stay in premier inns so this was a lovely refreshing change and worth every penny, I will definitely be staying here again

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageYorkshire, Guest Relations Manager at Heritage Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi Alison,

Thanks for your brilliant review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
The Rum Boat has been given a new look recently and has been rebranded as The Scarborough Suite. We think it looks even better now, so maybe you can consider staying here when you return!

Kind Regards,
Krystina Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcroft, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a long trip from Australia and pre booked a standard room- not themed. We entered easily on a Sunday with the email instructions. Very easy and convenient I think! I'm positive most people would be able to use the system in place.
Room was lovely and the stone walls and lofty cieling really added to the charm.
We didnt have a great night with the banging loose front door and the shower in the morning was broken and spewing water everywhere. We were so happy however with management who quickly upgraded us to the orient suite. This suite is amazing. The most gorgeous place I've stayed. Clean and furnished beautifully. I also received a couple follow up emails from management during our stay to see if we were okay and happy. Really impressed!
I believe this place really is a self contained apartment. You aren't meant to see staff every minute. But they are at the office just downstairs if you need them. The cafe also had the best eggs Benedict I've ever had :)
All in all great value for money and lindley is a beautiful little area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetotravel8211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageYorkshire, Guest Relations Manager at Heritage Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi Jayjaylovemuff,

We would firstly like to thank you for such a lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay having travelled all the way from Adelaide!
Once again, I would like to apologise for the faults in your initial room, but we appreciated your patience and are glad that we were able to upgrade you to our Orient Suite.
We would love to welcome you back if you are ever in Huddersfield again, and hope that you try another of our Themed Suites!

Krystina Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We arrived late with no idea how to get into the building despite going through all emails. After 1 hour a resident arrived and let us in and very kindly opened a safe for us. In the safe was our room keys and paper work so we were on the hunt again. After another hour of walking through corridors we found another resident who gave us a code to use the lift. Also a emergency contact number which we rang to find the room we were given the information for had been let. After 2 hours we accessed our room. Which looked cleanish unfortunately the springs on the mattress were sticking through and to uncomfortable to sleep on. No lights worked except a lamp and the place stunk of damp with damp patches on the carpet outside our room. Luckily the shower was amazing to wake me up before my conference. We stayed 2 of the three nights booked and never saw any staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MobyFanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageYorkshire, Guest Relations Manager at Heritage Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hi MobyFanclub,

Thank you for your review and I can only apologise for the problems you experienced during your stay at Heritage.
We take all feedback seriously, and are constantly aiming to improve our guest relations and service. We have since improved our e-mail system with detailed instructions on how to find your key and room at Heritage, and hope that if you stayed again you would find it with much more ease. We are also in the process of replacing all of our beds and we are constantly replacing pillows and linen, to ensure comfort is at a maximum.
As Guest Services Manager, I am available from 8am-5pm Monday-Friday and on-call during the weekends so although it isn't a hotel with 24hr service, we do our best to answer any query you may have and help you if you need any assistance.
If you are in Huddersfield in the near future, I hope that you will consider Heritage as your choice of accommodation and are able to have a much more enjoyable stay.

Krystina Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

What a lovely night spent at Heritage Lofts. The management were amazingly helpful and sorted out all requests immediately. The place was quiet and warm and the bath was amazing!!! Lovely place to unwind on a Sunday evening. Clean and well furnished right down to the smallest details. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageYorkshire, Guest Relations Manager at Heritage Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi Sophia,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, and hope that you will choose to stay again in the future. We are currently updating our suites and re-branding our themed suites, so hopefully next time you stay you will be able to try something completely new!

Kind Regards,

Krystina Firth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
1.1 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
1.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
1.6 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Suites

Property: Heritage Suites
Address: Wellington Mills 70 Plover Road | 70 Plover Road, Huddersfield HD3 3HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our serviced studios and apartments are available for short, or long term stays. The booking process is very similar to hotels, but serviced apartments offer considerably better value for money.The main differences between using serviced accommodation and staying in a hotel include the provision of a kitchenette area with self-catering facilities, Freeview television and Wi-Fi. These are often things that are charged for at hotels. In addition, you are free to bring your own food and alcoholic beverages without the worry of utilising room service or eating at specified mealtimes.Our self check in service gives guests the freedom to check in as and when they please, and gives a greater sense of privacy, adding to that ‘home from home’ feel. Our Housekeeping staff will service your room with towels and linen every third day, and again this can be done at your convenience.The suites range from studios to one or two bedrooms and penthouses. We also offer themed suites which are ideal for special occasions, or just for a little extra luxury. These self catering suites were constructed and furnished in 2010, but still boast many original features of our Victorian textile mill, such as the exposed stone walls and impressive wooden roof beams. This combined with modern and contemporary décor and facilities present a stylish base for work, leisure or just a getaway.Don’t forget! We can negotiate preferential rates for frequent users and corporate guests. BreakfastOur Bistro onsite is open for evening meals and breakfast from 9am and there are many great quality restaurants around Lindley. If you would prefer a continental breakfast pack to be placed in your room prior to your stay, we would be more than happy to arrange this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing