We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moorland escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Carnforth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moorland escape”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is midway between Marsden and Saddleworth. Set high on the moors it is quiet, views are spectacular, proprietors friendly and efficient. Our bedroom and en suite were huge and very pleasant and well equipped. Food reasonable and tasty. Breakfast rather special, fresh strawberries and pineapple, granola and muesli as well as the usual cereals, yoghurt, cooked breakfast and toast.
We had no complaints and will certainly be back.
A caution: no wifi.

Room Tip: Unable to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    23
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
41
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Marvellous and a welcome sight to the long distance walker. The owner Bev multi tasking with a smile and calmness.

A warm modern and recently refurbished room with a lovely bath was a wonderful sight on our 3rd nights stay on the Pennine Way. Turkish food - great and other diners fun to talk to.

Even directions saving our tired legs on our way out after a hearty breakfast (even including FRUIT-which has been rare-and you would not understand unless experienced).

Room Tip: back of hotel was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Please bring back the Landlord bitter as you served the best in Huddersfield. Isgara meat has been my favourite for many years, keep up the excellent food. Great for a relaxing evening, especially after a days climbing on the wonderfull adjacent Pule Hill. Happy days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip_Leslie_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I absoloutly love it here.me and my husband have stayed over 3 times now and im sure it wont be the last.i love the turkish food,the staff are friendly and helpfull.the pub is nice and cosy with the log fire.The bedrooms are well presented and modern.we love chilling out in the room after we have eaten our meal.see you again soon : )

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merriott, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here in 2012 while walking the pennine way and had such a nice time that I came back again! The welcome, the beer, food and the rooms are all very good indeed. I slept really well and had a hearty breakfast before setting off to mankinholes the next day. I thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I used to come here years ago with my family. Not stayed over yet, but cant wait to do so. Food is always delicious and staff are always friendly, this place is right in the middle of nowhere which is ideal. If you want to go as a couple then go in the evenings otherwise be prepared for children as it is a very family orientated place Will be continuing to go time and time agaiin

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarcySarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was a most welcome break for my wife and I at the end of day 3 of the Pennine Way. The room was huge and very clean. It also had a lovely shower/bath. The hosts were very friendly and the food was good. I highly recommend it to anyone who is walking the Pennine Way or who is just visiting the area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
0.0 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Huntsman Inn
The Huntsman Inn
#4 of 12 in Holmfirth
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
0.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn

Property: The Carriage House Inn
Address: Manchester Road | Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carriage House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing