We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class”

The Canton Chef, Honley
Ranked #129 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: US$10 - US$78
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A stylish Cantonese Restaurant based in the heart of Honley village, near Huddersfield. An excellent and fine dining restaurant. Interior décor has to be seen. It's a little gem! Not to be confused with our sister restaurant in Huddersfield Town Centre (The Canton Chef, Huddersfield).
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st class”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

my wife and i have just spent a very enjoyable evening at the Canton Chef
the food and service was 1st class. we live in the village and to have a restaurant of this class
so near is a real bonus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    10
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, fab restaurant and brilliant with little ones! ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here on Monday evening. We hadn't booked and got a really warm welcome. We had our 4 year old little girl with us and everyone made a fuss and made her smile, even bringing her children's chopsticks when they saw her trying to master the normal ones! The food (and wine) was gorgeous the service was great. We can't wait to come back!

Helpful?
Thank SpecialKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take away”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Rang for a takeaway at 7pm to be delivered, said it would be 45 mins, rang at 8.20 to see where it was, told it would be another 45 mins!!!! Cancelled order very dissapointed

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Faz152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice meal but a tad pricey!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a meal here with my friend, we both had a starter and main and enjoyed our meals and we both were full up but as the title says and after looking at other reviews on here I must say I thought it was a tad overpriced as well. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and the staff were friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Kapowell17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield - UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have been a frequent visitor to this restaurant and we have always enjoyed our meals, not the cheapest place to eat and drink, but good enough for us to keep going back. Pre booking can be a necessity on busy nights to ensure you get a comfortable table. The downstairs toilets are not easily accessible for anyone with mobility difficulties, in which case this may be a venue for any unable to climb stairs to avoid.

I have seen them respond appropriately to any complaints and endeavour to put it right, so anyone not happy with anything need to tell them at the time.

They also do take away food and offer a home delivery service - this is not the cheapest home meal and it sometimes needs re-heating and can take over an hour to arrive - we only live 2 miles away, so we don't order them too often).

The owner Roy is outstanding at remembering peoples first names and you wont often see him write down the orders, which for us have always been delivered as requested either as a couple or in a large group.

I agree with some other comments around the staff being very nice and attentive if a little too attentive, and quite intrusive when you have several staff members fussing over you, and constantly refilling glasses when not really needed.

Anyone out for a romantic meal might find the staff interruptions off putting (obviously I go to eat only :-) ). ... Something Roy should take note of as it may put people off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panrider_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Canton Chef, Honley also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Canton Chef, Honley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing