We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Kirklees Light Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel along behind Hawk, Owl, Fox, Badger or Jay, our five friendly little engines here at the Kirklees Light Railway the home of Yorkshire’s Great Little Steam Trains.Climb aboard our little trains for a scenic journey along our 15” narrow-gauge rail through the beautiful South Pennine foothills to our Shelley terminus where you can enjoy the panoramic views of the surrounding area.Visit the Shelley station Tea Room for selections of seasonal refreshments. Children can play in the outdoor play area and on a summers day enjoy our large picnic area.Upon returning to Clayton West passengers can take pleasure in the many facilities available to them. The outdoor play area is ideal for children to ‘let off some steam’ whilst the adults browse our extensive shop. The Café serves hot and cold seasonal food and drink whenever the Railway is open.Many special events held throughout the year including: A Day Out with Thomas, Easter Eggspress, Olly Owls Big Weekend, Steam & Diesel Gala's, Halloween Ghost Trains and the Santa Express.We cater for groups, school visits, childrens birthdays, private functions and we also offer Driver Experience Courses.Open every weekend, school and bank holiday throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Took our three year old grandson who loved it, It was not good weather so we didnt benefit from the outside play or picnic areas but the train journey was great for kids and im sure on a lovely summers day it will make for a great day out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank terrierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirklees L, Manager at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your visit even though the weather was not good. We will look forward to welcoming you back on a nice day when you can enjoy our outdoor activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    128
    23
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Have visited here a few times over the years and today decided to call for a few hours following a disappointing visit to a nearby attraction. No queues, lots of fun things for the children to do and a lovely cafe. As we had limited time we didn't buy tickets for the main train but instead our 6 year old had great fun riding the miniature train for nearly an hour! Lovely staff and we will definitely be back for a full day soon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becks_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirklees L, Manager at Kirklees Light Railway, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that our staff looked after you well when you came to see us. We try to have our smaller railway operating when the weather is fine. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab, fun, festive trip to see Santa!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went on the twilight special Santa train at 5pm, it was festive from the off with lit up decorations, elves to see you off and music in the carriages! The flood lights on top of the carriages allowed for a 'lit up' experience of the surroundings. Once at Shelley we were greeted by elves who were very interested to hear all about what my kids wanted from Santa. The sherry mince pies and squash and biscuits for the children were a lovely touch and the BBQ also a great idea and enjoyed by lots! The Santa was fantastic and the whole thing was very organised visiting in carriage order so no long wait with restless children! Santa himself was fantastic, and the gifts in a tailor made bag another great touch! Will definitely coma again! Thanks for a great trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanrey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Santa ever”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Attended the Santa ride. It was the best Santa ever! My husband even came out saying 'was that the real Santa'!? Great gifts too. As with the Thomas day we enjoyed here in summer, don't be put off by it perhaps seeming pricey upfront, it's a great value for money day out!

Helpful?
2 Thank KDofChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirklees west yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Light railway”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

children love it, do special days like Santa Train, with childrens pressies, Thomas The tank engine days

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelling l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirklees Light Railway also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Kirklees Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing