We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like Catherine m200 nohing going on after 8pm Mondays”
Review of The Sands House

The Sands House
Ranked #49 of 574 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sands House Pub and Restaurant. The very best of British pub classics and traditional Sunday Roasts all freshly cooked to order. Fantastic beer garden, 4 Yorkshire real ales, high quality wines and always a warm welcome.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“like Catherine m200 nohing going on after 8pm Mondays”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Choice on menu was a little sparse due to time of day.However the food was good and well presented as was the service, will return.
Ken Garside.
Weddington NC USA

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenneth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    85
    43
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have been to the The Sands House a couple of times now. We wish that we hadn't gone tonight. We ordered the food and the starters came out quickly, they were all nice. When the mains came, my steak was half a cm thick and had a lot of fat on it, the onion rings were really greasy and the steak had been placed on top of the chips so by the time it was placed in front of me, the chips were soggy. Another member of my family had a turkey dinner. The majority of the roast potatoes, stuffing, pigs in blankets, yorkshire pudding were burnt, that bad that they couldn't be eaten. The roast parsnips were incredibly dry even with gravy on. When the waitress came to collect the plates, she asked if everything was ok and we said about the turkey dinner, to which she replied "well if you had told us about it sooner then we could of done something about it", which is a fair point, but no way should it of even left the kitchen like that. I didn't mention my steak as I thought there was no point. Her attitude after that was very rude. She asked if we wanted anything else and before everyone had answered, she said "you want the bill then". When she came with the bill, we needed it itemising so that we could pay separate, she huffed and took it back.
The lady behind the bar was really nice, as the other waitress hadn't itemised the whole bill, she finished it for her. We wont be going there again, especially if we are going to get that service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwhudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good basic food”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Called here after a late working session and didn't want to cook. Good choice for most people, if a little restrictive for non meat eaters. My friend chose the chicken livers with bacon on bubble and squeak. I was told it was very nice, but the bubble & squeak was made with potatoes and carrots, not cabbage!

I had the broccoli quiche with salad and chats - wonderful! Where else would you find chats?

We hadn't realised that we were under a 'meal deal,' £14 for the two, but it was good value - even if it is served with peas!

Be warned, it is not the brightest lit pub!

Go again? - Yes. Recommend it? - Yes, with a warning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hot food”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Am surprised we had a great meal here, the menu was a good variety. It was well presented and hot, which is a must for me. I will be going back again and it was reasonable in price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gunnersfan4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Always had good food at the Sands House and until recently the service has always been good, but staff going home early and closing down the kitchen meant that I was unable to finish my meal with a hot drink. Does this mean that when its quiet customers are to expect a lesser service? Won't be going back to there again until I hear more favourable reports.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sands House also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing