We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Recent Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands House

The Sands House
Ranked #41 of 568 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Sands House Pub and Restaurant. The very best of British pub classics and traditional Sunday Roasts all freshly cooked to order. Fantastic beer garden, 4 Yorkshire real ales, high quality wines and always a warm welcome.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Recent Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

First of all let me say, Kozel is back :) - thanks to the landlord for listening to your punters! Had a meal and a pint and all I can say is 'Fantastic'. The tea cake was freshly made and I have never had a bad one contrary to what others have said!

The beer may be a little pricer than some other places but you get what you pay for!

Get bacon and Brie on the menu, apparently it tastes heavenly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JRKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    84
    42
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Always used to eat here but about 12 months ago we said we wouldnt go again as the drinks were quite pricey and hardly anything we wanted was available . After thinking where to go for a snack we suggested trying here as maybe things had improved . We only had hot beef sarnie & chips . The teacake was hard and dry as if been defrosted in the microwave and the beef was that tough i couldnt eat it . We were never asked how the food was even though we only ate our chips . Couldnt even be bothered complaining , just wont go again .

Helpful?
3 Thank YorkshireKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No Kozel makes me sad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Recently I have been visiting Sands House to have a pint of my favourite Czech Republic Lager 'Kozel'. Unfortunately due to a "mix up" from the company that delivers the lager the tap has had a towel on top indicating 'No Kozel for you today'. I hear they may remove Kozel now. Let me assure you, if Kozel goes so does mine and many others custom.

On the whole the pub is great, the food is great and the staff are great.

Regards,
Enormous Kozel Fan

Helpful?
Thank JRKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“like Catherine m200 nohing going on after 8pm Mondays”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Choice on menu was a little sparse due to time of day.However the food was good and well presented as was the service, will return.
Ken Garside.
Weddington NC USA

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kenneth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not very good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have been to the The Sands House a couple of times now. We wish that we hadn't gone tonight. We ordered the food and the starters came out quickly, they were all nice. When the mains came, my steak was half a cm thick and had a lot of fat on it, the onion rings were really greasy and the steak had been placed on top of the chips so by the time it was placed in front of me, the chips were soggy. Another member of my family had a turkey dinner. The majority of the roast potatoes, stuffing, pigs in blankets, yorkshire pudding were burnt, that bad that they couldn't be eaten. The roast parsnips were incredibly dry even with gravy on. When the waitress came to collect the plates, she asked if everything was ok and we said about the turkey dinner, to which she replied "well if you had told us about it sooner then we could of done something about it", which is a fair point, but no way should it of even left the kitchen like that. I didn't mention my steak as I thought there was no point. Her attitude after that was very rude. She asked if we wanted anything else and before everyone had answered, she said "you want the bill then". When she came with the bill, we needed it itemising so that we could pay separate, she huffed and took it back.
The lady behind the bar was really nice, as the other waitress hadn't itemised the whole bill, she finished it for her. We wont be going there again, especially if we are going to get that service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cwhudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Sands House, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sands House also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing