We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite and accommodating from the outset; friendly and we felt valued”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Polite and accommodating from the outset; friendly and we felt valued”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

If you can't sleep with the background noise of cars & you sleep with the window open, take earplugs! I don't find this a problem, but some people are not used to traffic 'hum' and someone commented on this at the check out desk.
When you come into the road where the hotel is on, the opening comes up really quickly.
If there is anything you need, staff are very helpful and do what they can to get it for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    108
    77
    28
    20
See reviews for
96
135
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We had my daughters wedding breakfast and evening do at the Old Golf House Hotel in June. I have to say that all the staff were very polite and everything that was asked of them was completed with no fuss at all. There were a few minor mix ups which can be expected at these events but all were put right and dealt with quickly.The wedding breakfast was really nice and the quality of the food was excellent. I didnt have any of the evening buffet as i was still full from the previous meal but was told that it was very nice.We stayed overnight in one family and one twin room and i have to say i was a little dissapointed with the quality of the room i did expect a bit higher standard and the rooms are looking a bit dated and could do with a bit of a lift.My main concern really was every time someone went to the bar and ordered the same round it came to a different price and we arent talking pence different we are talking pounds. The price of the drinks are really overpriced aswell which could be a concern if your running up a tab on your room which i didnt do thank goodness.Speaking of that when i came to check out and looked at the final bill there was a charge of over £30 for a round of drinks which had been allocated to my room which straight away i pointed out that i hadnt charged any drinks to my account. The signature was checked against mine and yes it wasnt me it was another member of the wedding parties siginature but how could this happen when your drinks can only be put on the room your staying in with your room number on the chargecard you hand over?. So really in a nutshell we had a really nice time and everybody was happy the rooms could do with a bit of an update and make sure you check your bill when you check out and you may want to play the game we started " guess the price of this round". Would i come back? yes i would for a family function.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerhepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We held our wedding reception here and the day was perfect.The food was gorgeous the staff were great and everything ran smoothly.I couldnt ask for more they made it the best day of my life and i cant thank them enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oconnor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

On 24th April our son held his wedding at The Old Golf House Hotel. As we had read a previous bad revue we were a bit worried about this hotel. No need to worry!! We had a brilliant wedding service followed by a lovely wedding breakfast and then an evening disco and buffet. The hotel was lovely as was the meal and buffet. The staff were absolutely brilliant and nothing was too much for them. The rooms we stayed in overnight were spotlessly clean, well decorated and furnished. All in all we had a super time at the Old Golf House Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it for a wedding venue.

Room Tip: If you are disabled asked for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This was the worst hotel I have ever been to. The staff were so rude and unfriendly standing there whispering. The rooms are disgusting the windows do not open. The rooms need decorating. Horrible place and horrible staff to go with it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slou0899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thropton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We were visiting our pregnant daughter and son in law and our daughter went into labour while we were there. The staff at the hotel were brilliant, moving us into a family room so that our grandson could stay with us while she was in hospital. Nothing was a problem for them and it was all done with a cheery smile. Even offered the new dad a sausage sandwich when he came over to collect our grandson. Made a stressful weekend so much better - thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parnas99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed for a couple of weeks for a business meeting.

Decor for conference rooms and bedrooms very tired and a little tatty. Had to move from one room as a blind was missing and sunlight too bright for the screen. Staff friendly enough but service lacking e.g. coffee was late a few times and sometimes evening meal took close to an hour to arrive after ordering. Both the conference rooms we used had a clock that didnt work. Not difficult to fix, but probably summarises the way the hotel is managed.

The hotel seems often to take coachloads of old folks touring the local area. Maybe not the best background for a business meeting.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrTR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
450 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
532 reviews
3.8 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Property: The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Address: New Hey Road | Outlane, Huddersfield HD3 3YP, England (Formerly Old Golf House Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Golf House Hotel, Huddersfield is elegantly designed in ageless Yorkshire stone and originally part of the prestigious Outlane Golf Club, the 17th century style hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful gardens which include a 5-hole pitch and putt green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hotel Corus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing