We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven in the hills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A haven in the hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Bringing a party of fellow travellers is always a delight.
Rooms are great,and food great,
A special mention to all the the staff. so welcoming and accommodating, but not forgetting their professionalism.
Thanks to you all for making my job a lot easier.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirkanelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    102
    74
    27
    20
See reviews for
90
130
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

What to say, we were very dissapointed with the service in the resturant I am a smoker but to have a waitress hovering smelling of cigarettes is a little too much. My date, orderd the sirloin steak which looked about the size of a small burger and looked more like one too, at a £4 surcharge it was taking the **** . We must have picked a bad Saturday night as we were the only ones eating that night apparently the residents had gone out to eat !!!!! sorry not suprised. I think worst of all, we either failed to see or it wasn't printed on the menu was that VAT was not included in the pricing so our £47 bill turned into £57, needless to say that it is the last time we shall eat at this well recomened resturant. Sorry folks beware. I would like to add that we have both eaten in many differant resturants world wide, and to have one of the worst in your home town and village at that beggars belief.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blencoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a birthday party and thought it was very comfortable.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and the party went well.
Breakfast the following day was ok but why is it that most places serve up terrible sausages, there is no end of choice of good farm produced food in this area.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jays121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed in here when attended a birthday party in nearby village. Staff was really friendly, but atleast our room was quite outdated and would need some refreshening. Beds were ok (with one very flat pillow), but as we were rather tired we probably would have slept well even on the floor.

There's not much around there and as someone mentioned earlier the church bells might wake you up if one is light sleeper. Breakfast was basic full English (not included to room rate) and was made after order so food hasn't been standing for hours.

Expectations weren't high due to the rate we paid, so would say good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiinaHenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Friends gave us a voucher for a bargain break and we weren't disappointed. The staff were superb, the food spot-on and the building and rooms fine. Highly recommendable. Even if we'd have paid full price it would've been a good one.

Room Tip: All seemed good - the shape of the building results in all rooms looking onto gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had our youngest daughters wedding here 29/12/12. I can not praise the staff enough they helped to make a wonderful day extra special. The food for the wedding breakfast was some of the best i have tasted it was served hot to every guest. Everyone commented on the level of service being so good.We stayed the night of the wedding and contrary to a previous review nobody in our party complained about being disturbed by church bells on the sunday morning.
We thanked staff on our departure and we would not hesitate to recommend The Old Golf House
to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dogwalker1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night. The family room was OK, but then we were woken at 9am by the church bell right next to our room which seemed to go on forever and left us with headaches! Don't stop here on a Saturday night if you want to have a Sunday lie-in!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.0 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#12 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Property: The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Address: New Hey Road | Outlane, Huddersfield HD3 3YP, England (Formerly Old Golf House Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Golf House Hotel, Huddersfield is elegantly designed in ageless Yorkshire stone and originally part of the prestigious Outlane Golf Club, the 17th century style hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful gardens which include a 5-hole pitch and putt green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hotel Corus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing