We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a wedding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a wedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a family wedding, the wedding itself was lovely and the whole day was well organised, but the rooms were a bit of a let down as they are quite old and in need of a little tlc and repair, the beds were very comfy though and the breakfast was very nice, the grounds to the hotel are lovely and the general atmosphere at the hotel is nice, it is a very busy hotel with a wedding every day we were there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flumpsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    102
    74
    27
    20
See reviews for
90
130
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed here for two nights for a family wedding, check in was very rushed and the receptionist was firing off questions too fast for me to understand what she was asking. Walked into our room to a very unpleasant odour of badly washed towels, turned out to be shower curtain. Bedding was immaculate on inspection. We booked a family room which was a double bed and a sofa pull out bed, sofa bed was uncomfortable but kids can sleep on anything, could not have slept on it personally. Room a bit dated with some minor marks/tears in wallpaper but did see other rooms that were newly refurbished and they looked nice. Decent sized telly with good clear picture. No noise from motorway but windows could not be opened and even with heating off the room was very warm. there was a AC system but made so much noise it was hard to sleep with it on. Food received at wedding and for breakfast was pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Using the living social voucher, we booked 3 twin rooms initially for a girls night away. 2 of our friends were unable to make it and I was able to change that booking to another night and my elderly mother & father in law used that booking. We all had a lovely time. The staff were so friendly snd went out of their way to be helpful. The meals were very good. Rooms were basic but clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We all had a go at the pitch & putt which was great fun. The hotel is easy to find as it is just off the M62 but the only downside is that the traffic can be heard when you are in the garden area. As my father in law has been quite ill, I really wanted him to enjoy his stay. I was delighted when he said it was the best thing to happen for a long time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hevnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here overnight for a wedding held at the hotel. Although very close to the M62 motorway, traffic noise was shielded by trees and our room was triple glazed and quiet. However it had no opening windows. A rather old and noisy aircon unit provided some change of air. The room was clean and traditionally furnished and quite adequate but a bit dated. The staff were pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The overnight stay was booked direct with the hotel on-line and was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebird224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Went to a wedding here this venue is just way to small for any event.The food was awful and the staff were either loud or rude.The bedding in our room had not been changed and smelt really bad we couldn't wait to leave and didn't even stay for our breakfast the next day.We complained about the smelly bedding in the politest way possible and got no apologies just more rudeness from the staff all of this we found such a shame as we have been here and stayed before and the last time we enjoyed our food the room was clean so it was very disappointing the second time round so we will not be going a third time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spankyfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Visited with a party of 14, mainly pensioners on a tour of Pennine Yorkshire. From the initial registration, to departure the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms were well furnished, clean and bright with all the usual facilies that you expect these days.
We were on an inclusive trip and lunch and evening meal were included. The breakfast really set you up for the day and was a mixture of buffet service and waiter service. There was a good choice of evening meals and these were both hot and nourishing.
The only drawback is it's location. It is in a small village with no real facilitis and some 3 miles from Huddersfield. There is also a lot of traffic noise from the nearby M62.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripley054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormskirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I have just had a two night stay at the Old Golf House hotel. Food and service were excellent and all staff very friendly and helpful. The interior of the hotel and gardens were well maintained. Our room was at the back on the second floor, but no problem whatsoever with noise from the motorway.All in all our stay was excellent value for money and we would highly recommend this hotal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
4.7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
2.0 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#12 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Property: The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Address: New Hey Road | Outlane, Huddersfield HD3 3YP, England (Formerly Old Golf House Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Golf House Hotel, Huddersfield is elegantly designed in ageless Yorkshire stone and originally part of the prestigious Outlane Golf Club, the 17th century style hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful gardens which include a 5-hole pitch and putt green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hotel Corus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing