We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Nearby Hotels
Briar Court Hotel(Huddersfield)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgerton Hotel(Huddersfield)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 31/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Hotel(Huddersfield)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/06
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Huddersfield West Hotel(Huddersfield)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Huddersfield(Huddersfield)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
190
129
84
30
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
129
84
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptioncoach tourevening mealdance floorwedding breakfastplenty of hot waterevery member of staffwedding guestswedding venueroast beeflovely hotelplenty of parkingfollowing morningcomfy bednight staycooked to perfectiona lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Went to the old golf house for a friends wedding over the weekend. The wedding was a great success however the hotel stay was very disappointing.
The room was spacious however no opening windows in the room, the toilet was broken as was the kettle and the bed was lumpy not very comfortable, the shower kept going cold in the morning. With little sleep due to the bed being uncomfortable and the noise of the boilers under our room was dreadful.
The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was acceptable.
Very close to the motorway which is handy for most.

Room Tip: Avoid room 40
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We attended a friends Wedding here, it was a perfect day and went without a glitch. Food was lovely and the Staff were friendly and polite.ideally situated next to the M62 in lovely grounds.The drinks were reasonably priced anx slthough we did not stay the night the rooms we saw looked lovely and had everything you may need.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rachelburgess75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Following tips from previous reviewers (always useful) we e-mailed a request for a high floor and they thoughtfully obliged. We had a room on the top floor (No.50) which was very nice with a great view over pleasant grounds and the motorway beyond (ideal for lorry spotters). They don’t believe in lifts in Yorkshire so be prepared to strain every sinew to get your luggage to the room. The promise of “porterage” was non-existent either on arrival, or departure.
The first thing we noticed was thick dust on most top surfaces (dado rails, plugs, pictures etc) but this was cleaned up after a polite prompt. The triple glazing was 100% effective in eliminating noise but the windows did not open. We turned down all the radiators to tepid and there was also a fan but no air con.
Room was nicely furnished with tea/coffee,hair drier, settee, extra chair and table, one wardrobe (with strangely only 4 hangers) but with adequate drawer space and bedside cabinets but no safe or fridge. The trouser press was a bonus and we had a comfy big bed and decent pillows. The tv had all the Freeview channels (all English) but unfortunately the sub-title facility was inoperable which made viewing difficult for us “deafies”. The EPG programme guide did not function either but you don’t go to Yorkshire to watch tv.
We were in a tour party over 4 nights and found the food to be good plain grub with no frills but satisfying served swiftly and still hot. Breakfast was good with a nice choice to please everyone.
My only real gripe is the insistence by many hotels including this one, of installing heavy return springs on bedroom doors. This means that the last person up to bed on your floor causes a enormous “BANG” when the door closes. This raises you from your bed in spectacular levitation. Similarly any insomniacs that decide to take a stroll in the early dawn results in any thoughts of a lie in to breakfast time, out of the question.
Staff in all departments were efficient and friendly with plenty of smiles – always a plus.

Room Tip: High floor is quieter
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuchtravelledOAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed there last week overnight and found it to be a lovely welcoming place. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The meal was good ,although as it was quiet we did not eat in the restaurant , which was a pity as it was all laid up. But that was our choice.
Yes it is close to the motorway ,but this was not a problem.
The room was clean and well decorated. The gardens were a riot of colour and well kept.
Very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My son and my now daughter in law held their wedding reception at the Old Golf House in March 2014. We had a fabulous day and evening reception. The food was first class and the service good. About 50 of the guests stayed overnight and everyone was happy with the service and the quality of the rooms. A good time was had by all.
I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel they were prepared to go the extra mile to ensure the event ran smoothly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewartselwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews