We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel was booked by work for an overnight between jobs and I really wasn't expecting much. What a nice surprise though!
Lovely looking place, surrounded by mist when I was there which was very atmospheric.
Nice room with comfy bed and all very clean. Had a nice meal and good couple of beers in the bar and a good breakfast in the morning.
Staff were friendly abd helpful and the service in the bar was spot on.
A really pleasant stay; well done Penine Manor.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WainwrightBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will be passing through again and stay with us for a second time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    130
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
103
168
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I myself had a two night stay at the hotel, the first night we celebrated my husbands birthday with my family, the food and service was excellent and was very much enjoyed by all. After the evening conluded I and my remaining bridesmaids spent the night in the very comfortable rooms, followed the next morning by a lovely breakfast with a wide variety of choice.

In preparation for the wedding ceremony and reception the hotel staff were wonderful, attending to all our needs, a special mention must go to Mandy who kept us informed and advised and was so pleasantly attentive at all times helping my husband and I feel more at ease.
The wedding breakfast was served effeciently and the food again was excellent and plentiful, the reception had been laid out and decorated so well that all our guests could only say "wow" as they entered. The day and evening was a complete success with many of our guests staying over for the night, all of who were very impressed by the food, staff, service and the hotel in general.
Overall the hotel is warm and friendly with stunning views of the yorkshire countryside.We can strongly recomend it for anyone looking for a wedding venue, or for any function, and also as a great place to dine and stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon_and_Gary_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Sharon_and_Gary_13

Thank you for your review, we feel honoured that you chose us to celebrate your wedding, we thoroughly enjoyed helping you in your planning and the celebration on the day. All the team have seen your review and are thrilled their efforts meant you, your family and friends had such a good time. We do hope you wont be a stranger and that we see you again very soon and don't forget to celebrate your first anniversary with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a one night stay and it was ok. We booked a room on the ground floor due to my wife using a wheelchair. To be totally honest the hotel is not at all suitable for a wheelchair user and they do not assist you with opening doors etc. The ground floor rooms are not adapted and they do not have any adapted rooms.

The food was pretty good and was of good value but I would not be in a rush to return to the hotel as they really do not welcome disabled guests with open arms.

The room was very cosy, extremely compact with an old bathroom suite and a tiny 14" lcd tv. The bed was comfy and it was nice to see water, biscuits and coffee provided. It was clean but did not really suit us.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Helipad. You will get an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMC663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear JMC663

We are disspointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do welcome guests with disabilities, all our staff are trained to welcome and assist all guests, if on this occasion we let you down we sincerely apologise.

We have provided feedback to the team at Pennine Manor and I am confident that your experience will not be repeated in the future.

We do hope you will visit us again, I assure you all guests are welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My wife and I had simply a wonderful time having our wedding at the hotel. Family and friends also stayed over at the hotel for two nights and all confirmed what a great stay it was.

All the staff were great and very attentive to our plans and needs for the days. They all were great and we have no complaints what so ever. We would reccomend to any one the venue and the hotel.

The food and level of service were all fantastic. It was such value for money.

Room Tip: all were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Richard L

Thank you so much for your review. We are all delighted that you and your guests had a great time. We consider hosting weddings an honour and a privilege, so thank you for trusting us with yours. We do hope to see you again, especially on your wedding anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just returned from the Pennine Manor after an overnight stay on their Sleep and Dine offer - what excellent value! £89 on a saturday night for 3 course a la carte meal and bed and breakfast for two, brilliant. The hotel is in a lovely location but i would recommend going in the Spring or Summer as it is pretty remote if it snows, as it did last night! The rooms are lovely, warm and inviting as is the whole hotel and restaurant. The food is excellent, I had the Beef Wellington and I would strongly recommend it and my husbands Fillet Steak was lovely too. The hotel bar is also warm and cosy and quite reasonable too for a hotel bar. Breakfast was great,it was buffet style with cereals, toast, croissants,fruit salad and of course cooked English breakfast. What more could one ask for! We will certainly be going back again in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanvc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Susanvc24

Thank you so much for your review, the team really enjoyed reading it. We are delighted that you found your stay and our facilities cosy, we want our guests to be able to relax and have tried to create that environment. Don’t let bad weather put you off our team are well versed in coping and helping our guests to ensure it doesn’t impact their stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again, hopefully sooner than the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed for only one night that turned out to be rather eventful. Arrived in the dark with the onset of rain. Overnight the rain turned to horizontal snow and in the morning we had one of the most beautiful snowy sights of the Pennine landscape. The staff worked hard on their car park to ensure that we could get away again for our onward journey that fortunately became much easier once we he had dropped down to lower levels.

This really is an excellent location on the hills above Huddersfield. The Hilltop Restaurant is so called for a reason and even without the snow cover it is clearly a good location and quickly accessible from the M62. The room was fine and the package of £55 B&B for two was very good value. We had a good meal in the restaurant plus the usual breakfast. The décor in our bedroom was a bit quirky - dark wood panelled ceiling! - but only a sign of when I guess it was furbished. All in all a great value stay and worth considering.

Room Tip: If you are tall try and get an upgrade as the standard room only has a 4ft 6in wide bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear BiggerAl

The team are delighted with your review, we get all sorts of weather and we are well prepared to help our guests no matter what. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

stayed for only the one night had all weather conditions, waking up to3/4 inches of snow , hail
high winds ect etc ; excellent friendly service from all the staff, nice room and an excellent breakfast with superb choice.
the staff even offered to help me out the car park(which they had gritted)
but no problem drove out ok
thank you hope to return soon.

peter & isabel r

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Peter & Isabel

The Pennine team thank you for your review. Our location is high on the Pennine’s and therefore has tremendous views, but the downside can have severe weather conditions, however, we are prepared and can deal with whatever the British weather throws at us, we even have a friendly farmer who comes and helps us out when needed, but our team are ready and willing to help our guests any way they can. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and breakfast and that our team made you feel so welcome. We look forward to welcoming you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
532 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Address: Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing