We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here for one night on the Sleep & Dine offer and it was fanastic value for money. Sunday night, 3 course dinner bed & breakfast for £69.
All the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, nothing too much trouble. The double room was lovely and included tea coffee and water as well as iron, hairdryer, comfy chair etc
The 3 course meal which was absolutely brilliant, great choice on the menu and everything was cooked great and presented really well, can't praise the food enough, my husband said it was one of the best meals he's ever had!
Breakfast was equally as good, i actually had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was delicious, my husband had the full english breakfast which looked great and he said was brilliant.
Both the bar and restaurant are very welcoming and comfortable and drinks are fairly priced given its an hotel.
My only complaint would be the bed, which was very soft and lumpy and i prefer a hard mattress, but that is just personal preference.
This offer was recommended by friends of ours and we were not disappointed, will definitely be back, we loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Michelle B

Thank you for your review and your friends recommendation, the team are delighted that you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just returned from a sleep and dine at the Pennine Manor. check in was straight forward. Our room was clean albeit small and really the bathroom does need updating. The food was amazing and the service impeccable.Drinks were fairly priced and so all in all for a three course meal, room and full English breakfast for 2 for £69 it is a brilliant, affordable night away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear ManchesterBlondie

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed our sleep dine offer, we think its fabulous value and we are so glad you agree, we also have the same offer on at our sister hotel, The Royal Toby in Rochdale. We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding and despite horrendous weather with snow drifts about 6 ft high all the staff did a fantastic job and were cheerful and professional. The hotel itself is clean and cosy and the food was excellent all day. Nice touches in the room such as irons and hair dryers and will definitely be returning in the summer for a Dine and Stay special with are great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieandPaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear DebbieandPaulE

Thank you for your review, our team at the Pennine Manor Hotel are used to challenging weather conditions, but they always cope with a smile on their faces ensuring the impact of the weather is minimised. Our sleep dine offer is extremely popular and we hope you thoroughly enjoy on your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

It was my Niece's wedding last weekend, 23rd March, and the weather was just appalling, worst snowfall in 30 years. As can be seen from other reviews this Hotel is very high up in the Pennines with a 360 deg view so no hiding from the wind and snow. It had all the hallmarks of disaster with the weather preventing 4 staff members getting to work. But I cannot speak too highly of the staff who were in attendance, they worked like trojans to get everything set up, even clearing the entrance to the hotel car park with a few shovels, guests also mucked in to help with this. The whole day was just brilliant, would never have known if we had not heard that they were short staffed. The Manager, Mandy, was great with guests and her staff, she treats her co-workers with respect and as a result gets the best out of them, The food was wonderful, both the evening meal the night before the wedding and at the reception itself. I have never stayed in a Hotel where the staff were so nice and helpful, and I have travelled widely. So a great big THANK YOU to all the staff at the Pennine Manor. I will visit again when the weather is kinder.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Jan S

Thanks you so much for your review, the team are delighted that the wedding went so well in challenging circumstances. We pride ourselves that we can cope with anything that is thrown at us, including Mother nature!! Our team at Pennine Manor are their for our guests and will do whatever they can to ensure everyone has an enjoyable and memorable time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We attended a wedding and reception today, (my nephew), we have never been before because a) we had nor previously heard of it and, b) it's 53 miles from home - but just over an hours drive. The hotel is et on a picturesque hill top with 360 degree view around the moors just north of Huddersfield, it has major kerb appeal and is warm and very welcoming inside.

Rooms are comfortable and clean and would suit anyone wanting to explore the natural beauty of the countryside around (even extending to the wrong side of the Pennines).

We enjoyed particularly the food, it was served well, was hot and traditional, Leek and Potato soup with hot fresh roll; Roast Beef (even without the trimmings a big meal in itself!) cooked perfectly, with Yorkshire Pudding and onion gravy, roast potatoes, broccoli, carrots, boiled potatoes and cauliflower; and to finish (with difficulty) a superb sweet of red currant, rhubarb, blue berry etc crumble with custard; I may not need to eat again for two or more days!

Drinks etc, or coffee/tea readily available for drivers at reasonable prices and a very comfortable lounge to enjoy them in.

The staff led by Mandy (and Jordan who flies the coffee machine with a flair to behold) were perfect and deserve a reputation for quality,

We did hope that the forecast severe snow would set in before we had to leave but alas..... I can guarantee that we shall visit again, maybe just for a meal but who knows.

Room Tip: Spoilt for choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear JohnPlant

Thank you so much for your review, Mandy, Jordan and team thank you and are delighted you enjoyed yourslef so much, they also wanted to let you know about our sleep dine offer, which is worth the trip in its own right, plus you can catch up with family. The offer starts from £69.00 and includes a night in the hotel, a delicious 3 course meal followed by a full English breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife and I called last Sunday to check out the Sunday carvery
The food was wonderful the service was also wonderful
So my wife booked for Mother's Day for our parents
They pulled out all the stops and produced a superb 3 course meal
Again the service from the waiters and waitresses was outstanding
Piping hot delicious good home cooking which was tasty and well worth the money
The staff are pleasant and very polite unlike a lot of hotels
I feel only right we tell you about places and people who excell
So thank you for making a special day SPECIAL
I did read a review from someone who said the food was bland
I find this hard to believe well worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IFTIKARTAXIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear IFTIKARITAXIS

Thank you for your review, the team are all thrilled that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery so much that you decided to book for Mothers Day. We are very proud of the quality of the food at Pennine Manor and delighted that you agree. We look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My partner and I arranged to meet up in Huddersfield as she was on a business trip for the weekend. As we made our way towards the hotel, a blizzard set in blanketing the whole region in several inches of snow. As we arrived in to the hotel we were greeted with a warm welcome from the hotel staff. Checkin was swift and we found the room very warm with a fresh clean and comfortable bed. We made arrangements to have dinner in the restaurant, as we prepared ourselves in the room we requested a table beside the fire. The staff promptly prepared a table for us with a call to the room when it was ready. Food was excellent, we had a three course meal which was very tasty with great size of portions and excellent table service. Afterwards we retired to the bar had a few drinks and relaxed. In the morning we had a full English breakfast which set us up for the day it was also very with a great selection of different breakfast choice. It was very nice to meet Mandy the hotel manager she let us feed her horses after breakfast. The hotel is not easily accessible from the town, recommended to have a car. Evening entertainment would be good if they had a guitarist in the bar for some jazz or blues but it is a very quiet hotel. Apart from that it was an excellent stay and would recommend anyone to go for a short stay. They have a excellent package for 90 pounds including the dinner breakfast and a room great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Matthew T

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The venue is exposed to the elements, but the views are worth it, whether it's glorious sunshine or heavy snow the views are outstanding and our team are well versed in dealing with whatever the weather decides to throw at us.

We have passed your feedback to the team and they are thrilled with your feedback. We look forward to your return visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
2.0 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#9 of 14 in Huddersfield
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
570 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#5 of 14 in Huddersfield
323 reviews
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel

Address: Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#8 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing