We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“White Wedding”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On the 22nd and 23rd March 2013 we had the pleasure of staying at the Pennine Manor Hotel. The occasion, our daughter’s wedding.
Most people will recall the weekend simply because we all experienced the most significant snowfall seen in the area in many years, with head height snow drifts and roads closures.
The perfect recipe for disaster – a whiteout wedding.
However this was far from the case. The snow did not ruin the event and it can even be said that the wedding was in fact blessed by the milk of human kindness – with support and kindness being as plentiful as the snow falling from the sky.
We have many people to thank including the Kirklees Registrar’s, the hair and makeup artists, the car hire company, wedding guests, tractor and gritting drivers and hotel guests all who rallied in support to ensure that the event was memorable for more than just the weather.
It seems wrong to identify one group or individual over and above others, but the efforts of the Manager (Mandy) and her dedicated staff cannot go unrecognised. Mandy clearly is a Manager with demonstrable leadership qualities and commands the respect of those around her. She heads up a team of staff who go over and above to ensure the business can deliver against customer expectation. Special mention should also go to Paul who not only worked with customers in several areas of the hotel, but was also seen digging out cars and gritting the drive on many occasions. Thank you to all the staff that made the gargantuan effort to get into work to support the day.
Weather aside, did the hotel live up to the expectations we placed on them as a wedding venue?
The food was fantastic and plentiful (compliments given to the restaurant staff), the rooms were clean, comfortable and welcoming. The staffs were very approachable, professional and clearly committed to making our stay as perfect as possible.
Many of the wedding guests, having experienced the superior quality of the service given, are now wanting to take advantage of the fantastic eat and sleep deals now available at the hotel.
Simply saying thank you seems so understated when one considers the effort given over to making our family wedding such a success. A triumph over adversity managed by a positive and dedicated Manager and her staff.
Really – a very BIG thank you from the Marsh and Newham families.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katem390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear katm390



Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted everything went well and the camaraderie created by the weather will add to your memories I'm sure! Being where we are we are quite used to dealing with whatever mother nature throws at us, but thanks to the committed and flexible team at Pennine we can overcome anything, some even stayed overnight to ensure we could serve breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    135
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
104
174
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My brother got married here on 5th april 2013, the whole day from start to finish was 1st class, the hotel staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for us and the food was excellent. I would most def recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 36karenm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear 36karenm36



Thank you so much for your review, we consider it a great honour to host a wedding and we are delighted that you enjoyed the special day. We do hope you and your family visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Our daughter and her husband were married here on Easter Saturday. We stayed on the Friday night before too and did the stay and dine package which was excellent value as you could choose anything. The wedding was brilliant, the room looked brilliant and the food was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Wish we could do it all over again! Would strongly recommend for a wedding or for somewhere to stay as a base if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 748DavidK748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review. It is an honour to host a wedding and we are delighted that you want to do it again!!! Our sleep dine offer is very good and we are glad you enjoyed it - its is really nice to have a little get together before the big day. We hope to see you again soon, for sleep and dine or just for dinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Went to Pennine Manor for the first time in a couple years on Sunday. We were attending a function. When we arrived the bar area was full of guests and the bar was two deep with customers queuing. I did find this both surprising and disappointing given that the management must have been aware that there would be a lot of people arriving at the same time, two bar staff could not cope and at one point they both disappeared for about five minutes which caused much frustration among the waiting customers!
However, the rest of the afternoon was wonderful. The food was very tasty, piping hot and the service was really good.
We will definitely visit again and this time try the a la carte menu.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank campariandbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear campariandbecks

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed the function you attend. Your feedback has been passed on to our front of house manager who will look into the issue with the bar staffing levels. We are looking forward to seeing you for dinner one night - we also do a really good Sunday carvery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed here for one night on the Sleep & Dine offer and it was fanastic value for money. Sunday night, 3 course dinner bed & breakfast for £69.
All the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, nothing too much trouble. The double room was lovely and included tea coffee and water as well as iron, hairdryer, comfy chair etc
The 3 course meal which was absolutely brilliant, great choice on the menu and everything was cooked great and presented really well, can't praise the food enough, my husband said it was one of the best meals he's ever had!
Breakfast was equally as good, i actually had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was delicious, my husband had the full english breakfast which looked great and he said was brilliant.
Both the bar and restaurant are very welcoming and comfortable and drinks are fairly priced given its an hotel.
My only complaint would be the bed, which was very soft and lumpy and i prefer a hard mattress, but that is just personal preference.
This offer was recommended by friends of ours and we were not disappointed, will definitely be back, we loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Michelle B

Thank you for your review and your friends recommendation, the team are delighted that you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just returned from a sleep and dine at the Pennine Manor. check in was straight forward. Our room was clean albeit small and really the bathroom does need updating. The food was amazing and the service impeccable.Drinks were fairly priced and so all in all for a three course meal, room and full English breakfast for 2 for £69 it is a brilliant, affordable night away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear ManchesterBlondie

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed our sleep dine offer, we think its fabulous value and we are so glad you agree, we also have the same offer on at our sister hotel, The Royal Toby in Rochdale. We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding and despite horrendous weather with snow drifts about 6 ft high all the staff did a fantastic job and were cheerful and professional. The hotel itself is clean and cosy and the food was excellent all day. Nice touches in the room such as irons and hair dryers and will definitely be returning in the summer for a Dine and Stay special with are great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieandPaulE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear DebbieandPaulE

Thank you for your review, our team at the Pennine Manor Hotel are used to challenging weather conditions, but they always cope with a smile on their faces ensuring the impact of the weather is minimised. Our sleep dine offer is extremely popular and we hope you thoroughly enjoy on your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
541 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
270 reviews
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel

Property: Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Address: Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing