We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My husband and I got married here on 5th April this year. After a few hiccups with the wedding co-ordinator changing, Julie who took over from our original co-ordinator was superb. Mandy who managed the day for us was faultless and whatever the Pennine Manor do in the future- they really must keep her on as she knows exactly what she is doing and the wedding business inside out.

The food was superb and all staff involved in our day knew exactly what they were meant to be doing and when. The hotel itself has such character and is a lovely place to stay.

Not one of my guests had a criticism for the hotel at all and we could not be happier about choosing this location as it was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charrox1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear charrox1987

We are delighted you chose to have your wedding with us, it is such an honour to be part of such a special occasion. The team of thrilled with your review and look forward to hosting your future family occasions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

We held our wedding reception at this fantastic hotel and I am so happy with the service we recieved. The location is superb especially as many of my guests were from outside Yorkshire and were able to marvel at the views. The food was excellent. I had a couple of coeliac guests but the chef went out of his way to revise the menu.
The staff were all very helpful especially the manager (Mandy) who was always on hand to make sure nothing went wrong all day - she even sewed the hem on my dress for me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyMay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear JennyMay80

We are delighted that you decided to hold your wedding with us, we consider it a great honour to be part of such a special occasion. Our team at Pennine really do pull out all the stops, however, I must say its the first time I've heard of our managers getting the sewing kit out - how marvellous. We do hope you will visit us again and we look forward to sharing other family celebrations with you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Our wedding day at the Pennine Manor was perfect. We didn't pay an extortionate price or have to re mortgage to pay for our day. The staff were so helpful and guided us every step of the way. They were always there asking if we were okay, and nothing was too much trouble. The venue itself is in a beautiful location overlooking the Yorkshire countryside. I would recommend the Pennine Manor to anyone considering getting wed in the beauty of this Yorkshire setting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MICHELLLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Michelle B

Thank you for your review, we take great pleasure in hosting a wedding, all the team enjoy seeing the bride and groom celebrate with their family and friends, we do hope you will visit us again, especially for your anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed here on a very wet and windy night in April, it's a bit off the beaten track but for the cost, well worth the effort. Situated about 10 minutes off the M62 it's handy for the Leeds/Manchester corridor and the Pennines.

Reception was friendly, fast and efficient and all the staff were nice and very helpful. My room was fine, comfortable bed, a writing desk if you need to work, a clean bathroom with a decent shower with complementary toiletries and free, if a bit slow, wifi. No traffic noise but, as it's on top of a hill, it is a bit exposed although the double glazing kept the wind noise out, this meant I couldn't sleep with the window open, not the end of the world and hardly the hotels fault.

I ate in the bar in the evening, good, plentiful straightforward food which was well cooked and good value. Breakfast was excellent including a superb Eggs Benedict which was a nice surprise.

Overall a great hotel for around £45/night, I would stay again and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scubacol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Scubacol

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is exposed, but as you say this doesn’t impact your stay and the views are hard to beat, you really do feel that you are in the middle of the countryside, but yet only a few minutes from the motorway. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food and we look forward to seeing you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I had the privilege of coming to Pennine Manor Hotel for my best friends wedding on the 13th April and I'm really glad they found this gem of a place to hold their reception. Living locally I knew of the hotel but have never visited before. The staff were really courteous (from the reception and bar staff to the manager Mandy) and nothing was too much trouble, working tirelessly to make sure the day went well and everything was how the the happy couple wanted it to be. I had a great nights sleep and the icing on top was the amazing breakfast we were able to enjoy the next morning which followed the same quality of the food we had enjoyed the previous day. Thank you so much for a great weekend and I'm sure we will be heading back soon to relive the great memories of the weekend. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear BexV_13

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable wedding and that you are local, we have quite a few things going on that I’m sure you would enjoy, we do a great Sunday carvery and probably our best deal: Sleep Dine – which includes a 3 course meal, overnight accommodation and a full breakfast in the morning all this from just £69.00 I would highly recommend. We can’t wait to see you again very soon, now you’ve found us don’t be a stranger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

On the 22nd and 23rd March 2013 we had the pleasure of staying at the Pennine Manor Hotel. The occasion, our daughter’s wedding.
Most people will recall the weekend simply because we all experienced the most significant snowfall seen in the area in many years, with head height snow drifts and roads closures.
The perfect recipe for disaster – a whiteout wedding.
However this was far from the case. The snow did not ruin the event and it can even be said that the wedding was in fact blessed by the milk of human kindness – with support and kindness being as plentiful as the snow falling from the sky.
We have many people to thank including the Kirklees Registrar’s, the hair and makeup artists, the car hire company, wedding guests, tractor and gritting drivers and hotel guests all who rallied in support to ensure that the event was memorable for more than just the weather.
It seems wrong to identify one group or individual over and above others, but the efforts of the Manager (Mandy) and her dedicated staff cannot go unrecognised. Mandy clearly is a Manager with demonstrable leadership qualities and commands the respect of those around her. She heads up a team of staff who go over and above to ensure the business can deliver against customer expectation. Special mention should also go to Paul who not only worked with customers in several areas of the hotel, but was also seen digging out cars and gritting the drive on many occasions. Thank you to all the staff that made the gargantuan effort to get into work to support the day.
Weather aside, did the hotel live up to the expectations we placed on them as a wedding venue?
The food was fantastic and plentiful (compliments given to the restaurant staff), the rooms were clean, comfortable and welcoming. The staffs were very approachable, professional and clearly committed to making our stay as perfect as possible.
Many of the wedding guests, having experienced the superior quality of the service given, are now wanting to take advantage of the fantastic eat and sleep deals now available at the hotel.
Simply saying thank you seems so understated when one considers the effort given over to making our family wedding such a success. A triumph over adversity managed by a positive and dedicated Manager and her staff.
Really – a very BIG thank you from the Marsh and Newham families.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katem390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear katm390



Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted everything went well and the camaraderie created by the weather will add to your memories I'm sure! Being where we are we are quite used to dealing with whatever mother nature throws at us, but thanks to the committed and flexible team at Pennine we can overcome anything, some even stayed overnight to ensure we could serve breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My brother got married here on 5th april 2013, the whole day from start to finish was 1st class, the hotel staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for us and the food was excellent. I would most def recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 36karenm36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear 36karenm36



Thank you so much for your review, we consider it a great honour to host a wedding and we are delighted that you enjoyed the special day. We do hope you and your family visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
2.0 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 14 in Huddersfield
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
572 reviews
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel

Address: Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#8 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range: £48 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing