We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice place, great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in November 2013 and took advantage of the Sleep and Dine deal. Its a bargain at £89 Fri / Sat and includes a three course meal for two, room for the night and buffet style full English breakfast in the morning. The only extras were drinks which were reasonably priced.

We stayed here a couple of years earlier for a friends wedding so knew what to expect. The place has a romantic isolated feel with great views over the Pennines. The reception staff were friendly at check in and booked our table for the evening meal.

The food was good quality. I would recommend the mussels starter and beef Wellington.

The rooms themselves are a little dated especially the bathroom but generally clean and inline with the rest of the hotel.

We would recommend for budget night a way. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank centipede_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear centipede_tourist

We are pleased to receive your recent review of the Pennine Manor Hotel and delighted to hear that you found the Sleep and Dine deal great value and that you found the reception staff friendly. We have passed your comments on to the team who are trilled and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    125
    43
    15
    13
See reviews for
103
166
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This place is a little gem!
I have now stayed here twice on business, and once have also eaten in the restaurant and it is really very good value for money.

The entrance is easy to drive past being unassuming, especially the last time I went, when the fog was so bad I could not see my hand in front of my face!

The rooms are clean and tidy, if a little worn. The towels had no rips and were clean, as was the bed linen. The showers are sufficient with lots of hot water.

The food in the restaurant is very good.
The breakfast is wonderful, everything from eggs Benedict to a full English, including proper fried bread.

The staff are always pleasant and willing to chat to a lonely businessman!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Carl L

We thank you for your recent review for the Pennine Manor Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found us fantastic value for money and that you always find the staff pleasant and willing to chat and also that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant. We have passed your comments on to the whole team who are delighted and who hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Pennine manor for B and B on 12 April. The staff were really helpful even though they had a wedding on that day. They cleaned our rooms early and so that we could check in and get ready for a special occasion we were going to. They also made sandwiches early for us in the bar so that we could get off on time.

We had a great sleep and then a lovely cooked breakfast on the Sunday morning.

The room was quiet and comfortable and plenty warm enough. I think maybe the rooms will be due for a refurb in the not too distant future, but it's clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a spectacular location, on a clear day you can see halfway across Yorkshire! Also it's very good value for money too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrytomato_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear cherrytomato_11

We thank you for your recent review regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and that you found that staff very helpful and enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast on the Sunday morning. We have passed your comments on to the team who do hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just been up to the Pennine Manor for Sunday lunch celebrating my mother in laws 83rd birthday, tasty food, very friendly staff, warm welcome, other dinners shared their thoughts too by saying they had a lovely lunch time, will call again for sure.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel but would hope to think that it would be a really nice experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Julie G

We are very pleased to read your recent review on tripadvisor regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch for your mother-in-laws 83rd birthday celebrations and that you found the staff friendly and warm. We have passed your comments through to the team who look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our friends wedding at Pennine Manor. Absolutely stunning views and location.
We stayed the friday and saturday on the dine and sleep package. This is great value as the evening meal on friday incuded everything on the menu so we all enjoyed a four course meal with steak, and the food was to a high standard. We found the breakfast to be delicious also with a very good selection, just could of done with the cooked options to be kept a lot hotter.
All the staff were very professional but friendly, polite and really helpful. Our friends wedding went perfectly without any hiccups, and the service during the wedding breakfast was very good.
My one gripe is the quality of the room in which we stayed (14). It was very dark-made darker by the wooden cladded ceiling-and in desperate need of a face lift. The mould around the bath ceilant and grout in the bathroom was gross and when showering the screen leaked the water all over the bathroom floor and all over the bathroom door. If I had been with my husband when he checked in I would of asked to change rooms...The bed however was very comfy.
All in all we had a great stay here and would return but would definitely ask for a different room!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vickicarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Vickicarts

We thank you for your recent review regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel and are pleased to hear that overall you had a great stay and that you would return. We are pleased to hear that you found the sleep and dine package great value and that you found all the staff very professional, friendly, polite and very helpful. Regarding your room we have planned improvements that we are in the process of scheduling in which we are confident will address the issues you have raised, however, we would have tried to accommodate a room move had we been aware of the problem. Your feedback has been passed through to the team who are very pleased and do hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort william
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed overnight here and although the location was excellent we were disappointed with the standard of our room and the poor quality of the breakfast.
Dust on the skirtings and in the corners, draughty windows, cheap pillows, and I wouldn't even use the shower. There was mould on the grout and shower head and the towels were thin. Having worked in this industry I may be more picky than others but really there's no excuse for a grubby bathroom. Breakfast was over cooked and (and we weren't down late) average. A bit of imagination wouldn't go amiss.
There was only one member of staff on to serve at breakfast she was polite, efficient and was coping well under pressure. The girl at reception was also very pleasant and welcoming. So credit where it's due!
Sadly I wouldn't return as I don't see the point in spending money on accommodation that isn't better than I can have at home.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear J M

We thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor regarding the Pennine Manor Hotel. We have spoken with the General Manager at the Hotel and she has spoken with the team regarding your comments. Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms this has been addressed with the Head of Housekeeping and her team and some new processes have been put in place to address this, however, if you were not happy with your room we would have gladly fixed the problem or changed your room if we had been made aware of it. Regarding the food at breakfast we do feel we offer a wide selection of hot and cold foods and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the hot breakfast option.

We are sorry to hear that you feel you would not return to us in the future and we sincerely apologise that you left feeling that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for my husbands birthday on the sleep and dine offer and can honestly say it was fantastic the staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble, Mandy the manager was lovely and very welcoming , food was great the rooms were a little tired but clean and comfortable can't wait to revisit .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Rachvw

We thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Pennine manor Hotel for your husband’s birthday. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding Mandy, the Manager and all the staff friendly and the food great. We are sorry you found the rooms tired, but happy to hear that they were clean and comfortable. We value all guest feedback, positive and not so positive and we do take all of it on board to help us improve what we do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
2.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.1 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
Address: Road/Scapegoat Hill Nettleton Hill Road, Huddersfield HD7 4NH, England (Formerly The Pennine Manor Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Huddersfield
Huddersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing