We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent”
Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Ranked #56 of 576 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Charming country pub now fully refurbished. Cosy atmosphere, great fresh food, exciting drinks list and warm hospitality. A Prime British Pub With A Continental Twist!
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have eaten a number of times at the Bull's Head with the most recent to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We went on a Monday night to the tapas evening and with my wife being vegetarian I visited in advance to check out the menu. The staff/management could not have been more helpful, even adding additional vegetarian items to the tapas menu, including my wife's favourite dish! The tapas portions were very generous, and everything we ordered was fresh and extremely tasty. We have already arranged to visit again on a Monday night with our neighbours!

We have always had great food and service each time we visit this pub and are very happy that it is within walking distance of our house. For meat lovers I can definately recommend the francesinha which is a popular Portuguese dish - I have had this on a number of occassions and always enjoyed it. As mentioned above, my wife is vegetarian and has always been given a number of options to choose from, even if they are not all on the menu.

Would recommend this pub to anyone who likes great service, good food and a warm atmosphere. We would like to wish Ricardo and his staff all the best for his new venture at The Golden Cock and we hope to visit soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RemusHowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Hi there, and thanks alot for your great review of The Bulls Head. It is very nice to hear of our guests being treated well and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your evening and took the trouble to write. Our tapas evening is proving very popular and customer feedback has been very encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bulls Head soon, and please do try our sister pub The Golden Cock and let us know what you think. Once again, thanks for telling us how we did; it means a great deal to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    94
    34
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We needed somewhere local to eat, this pub was recommended and we were not disappointed. We ordered Portuguese food off the Specials menu and it was delicious. The wine selection was great and I really enjoyed my Italian chardonnay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank helend100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Hi there, thanks for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. As you enjoyed the Portuguese food, we also do a tapas night on Mondays, with Spanish, French and Portuguese small dishes to share, and wines to match. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bulls Head sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weekend Walk”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Was out walking from Meltham over to Blackmoor foot, and thought we would call in to Bulls Head, heard that the welcome was very warming and wasn't disappointed , Ricardo the owner was very friendly along with his staff.. Good selection of beers and had a nice sandwich which came with handcut chips, and side salad. Would recommend to anyone passing to call in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Hi there, we are grateful for your review and glad you enjoyed your visit to The Bulls Head after your walk. Our sandwich menu with hand cut chips is just the thing for those out walking, and our customers tell us the chips are divine. We hope to see you again soon, and we really do appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Excellent Food!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I can not fault this Pub/Restaurant at all...
As soon as you walk into the Bull's Head, you feel very welcome - Ricardo the owner greets you promptly and the venue has such a relaxed inviting atmosphere.
The food was 'Amazing' Presentation, Taste & Quality, I would highly recommend the Tempura king prawn starter & the Goats cheese & beetroot starter they both were a taste sensation - Also the onion rings are the best I have ever tasted.
Excellent value for money and I can't wait to go back.

Excellent Excellent Excellent !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Hi there and thank you very much for your warm review of The Bulls Head. We always aim to provide genuine hospitality, fantastic fresh food and great drinks. It does mean a lot to us that you took the time to write and tell us of your great experience. Many thanks for that and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friday Night Fayre”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Called in at the Bulls Head. Heard/read mixed reviews but as we'd not tried it ourselves, thought we'd drop in and make our own minds up.

We both ate off the standard menu, starting with the home-made soup. Delicious, warming, just enough to whet the appetite. Next came the main, Grilled Sirloin Steak for him, Mixed Grill for me. Steaks beautifully done, chips delicious, quantity/quality of meals overall spot on.

Decided against dessert, instead opting to go for a coffee and whisky apiece. Service was polite and efficient, the welcome warm and friendly. Would we go back? Absolutely. Prices? Mid-range but the value-for-money (presentation, quantities, taste, service) aspect more than delivers.

Recommend the Bulls Head? Yes. Nice atmosphere, welcoming, located in an easy -access part of Huddersfield, plenty of parking and space to eat outdoors, weather permitting.

We were told that the owner has taken on another bar/restaurant, the Golden Cock over at Farnley Tyas. Looking forward to the opening night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frogdropping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
hi there, thanks for your nice review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and wasn't discouraged from visiting by one or two questionable reviews on TripAdvisor. The reviews on this website certainly have to be taken in context, and some people will write negative reviews for their own personal reasons. As you really enjoyed your visit, it does show that TripAdvisor is not infallible; the only way is to go and see for yourself and we are pleased that you did and had a good time. Many thanks once again for taking the trouble to write and making your own mind up. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing