We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome on a wet winters night”
Review of The Bull's Head

The Bull's Head
Ranked #53 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Charming country pub now fully refurbished. Cosy atmosphere, great fresh food, exciting drinks list and warm hospitality. A Prime British Pub With A Continental Twist!
west yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a wet winters night”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have had the pleasure of eating in the restaurant of the Bulls Head Pub.The welcome on both visits was great and the choice of food and quality was excellent. On my second visit last week it was French Night and if you chose any of the three French mains it was "buy one and get one free"
I will check before my next visit to see what special offers are available.Excellent

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi there and thanks for your warm words about your warm welcome! It's great that you visited twice and enjoyed our hospitality so much that you felt able to give us 5 stars. As you mention, we have some great dining offers at The Bulls Head, something different every day, and now an amazing fixed price menu weekdays when you can enjoy 3 courses for only £14.50 or 2 for £11.50. All our various offers and menus can be found on our website or Facebook page. Thank you for your custom and positive recommendation of our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    94
    34
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ladies what lunch birthday treat”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I took my friend for a birthday lunch and had the Bull's Head burger. Wow, what a brilliant choice. I can honestly say I haven't enjoyed a burger as much for years. My friend loved it too and we both agreed, from seeing what other customers were eating, that the choice of food was indeed delicious. We shall definitely be going there again!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marroeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
hi there and thanks for letting us know about your enjoyable experience when visiting The Bulls Head. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your food so much you felt able to give us a 5 Star review. Many thanks for adding to our reputation and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend, home style cooking at its best”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Visited yesterday five adults and six children...very relaxed atmosphere and staff were friendly. Despite no children's menu they are catered for off the adults menu. Reasonably priced and excellent food...give it a try you'll be pleased when you do. Will be visiting again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi there, and thanks for such a fab review. As you say, we don't have a formal childrens menu, instead we offer smaller portions of adult dishes, or even cook them something they fancy not on the menu if we have it in. We find this informal approach works well for us, and kids & adults normally leave us happy and full. We appreciate the time you have taken to leave us such positive words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We visited The Bulls Head as a last minute reservation. They were able to fit our party of 11 in (5 adults, 6 children and a baby) and seated our party upstairs. The view from here is absolutely stunning. The food was delicious, we all had starters and mains. The tomato soup and chips were out of this world! There isn't a children's menu as such, but they are more than happy and able to cater for them with smaller meals from the main menu. The bill came to just under £150 before our tip and we all agreed it was excellent value for what we got. We will most definitely be back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi there and thanks for WOWing us with such a great review. As you say, our upstairs room is fabulous for larger parties, giving a little more inimacy, and far reaching views over The Colne Valley. Of course we are so happy that you enjoyed everything so much that you gave us the coveted 5 stars, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Changing Tastes”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My wife & I eat regularly at the Bulls Head & from the reviews we are not the only patrons who do so. I do not need to repeat myself about the quality & consistency of the food, service & ambience apart from stating it is always 'spot on' as they say in these parts. Over recent years the English eating habits & expectations have changed due to the increase in foreign travel. However many catering outlets have not kept pace with modern tastes & therefore do not satisfy current expectations. The Bulls Head has now raised the bar ( no pun intended ! ) & is fully meeting current standards on all counts. It now has menus that still satisfy diners with traditional tastes together with those who are more adventurous without being too outrageous. Well done Anthony & Mel. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurizio-47W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgil_Hilts_11, Owner at The Bull's Head, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi there, and thanks for your insightful review. Indeed we have a range of dishes to suit the ever increasing sophistication of people's tastes in dining out, as well as traditional favourites. Our motto is "A Prime British Pub with a Continental Twist" and our menu reflects this, as well as the Corsican/Yorkshire roots of Ant & Mel. We are so pleased that you enjoy what we do and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull's Head also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bull's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing