We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexandra House Spa - CLOSED

Alexandra House Spa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Please note that we have moved premises - we're still open but in a wonderful new location. See our new listing, Alexandra House Holistic Health and Wellbeing Spa, Huddersfield
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very relaxing - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I had a massage yesterday evening at this beautiful spa. The welcome was warm and friendly, I was led to a relaxation area and offered a drink before the therapist led me to the treatment room. The therapist was lovely, and took the time to talk to me about where my problem areas were before she started the treatment. She made sure I was always comfortable/ warm enough and that the pressure was ok. I loved the heated bed. She even did some deep breathing with me to ensure that I was relaxed. I felt that they gave a really personal service compared to other massages I have had elsewhere in the past.

In the room I was, there were two beds - it would be great for a couples massage as the surroundings are so tranquil. I would highly recommend, and will definitely be paying the new premises a visit when they open after Christmas.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peach1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your treatment and that you enjoyed the surroundings and the heated bed! And that you benefitted from the breathing that the therapist did with you.

We look forward to seeing you again in our new premises!

Thanks, Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    5
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My advice - wait until they move”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I think that Alexandra House will be improved once they move. I didn't expect threadbare towels and for the place to feel so...well...cold?

The treatment was good, the lady was very knowledgeable and professional - and it was nice for her to not be a 17/18 year old newly qualified therapist as you get in the larger spa in Huddersfield.

Maybe it is the style of the Victorian house and the fact that they are getting ready to refresh and renew the new place BUT my advice to you is to wait to book at Alexandra House when they have moved to their new location.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi. I just wanted to respond to your review. I'm really sorry to hear that you were not warm enough at the spa - it is an old building but we have lots of heaters here and apologise if you weren't warm enough. I've spoken to the staff to make sure that they keep the heating high enough.

Yes, we are moving soon and will have new towels - we were hoping to move earlier this year but it was delayed due to planning and the purchase of the property so we have lots of new things waiting for our imminent move.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your treatments here, we do strive to maintain really high standards of treatments.

Hope to welcome you to our new premises in the new year!

Kind regards, Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely experience, will be even better when in new premises”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had a lovely pampering afternoon. Went with my sister who is visiting from overseas. We were looking forward to catching up properly without the children to entertain at the same time! We weren't disappointed, had a light lunch and then relaxed for a good while in the downstairs relaxation area. This was followed by head massages and facials in the dual treatment room, which were just lovely. We were then shown to the upstairs relaxation room and then a therapist came in to do our hand paraffin wax treatment, which was really nice. We headed off soon after that to pick up children, though there was absolutely no pressure to leave and we could have happily spent longer there. Staff were very efficient and made us feel very relaxed, I particularly enjoyed that they didn't chat to us throughout our treatments, as I have been to other spas where I couldn't enjoy the pampering as I felt I had to make small talk with the therapists. Only downside is that the décor etc is now looking jaded and I thought the towels on the treatments beds were thin and old - didn't think green was a nice colour - would usually expect pristine white or cream in a spa, though I know they are moving in January so am looking forward to visiting the new premises and enjoying more modern facilities.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Katey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed a few hours away from the children! Yes, we will be having new towels and decor at the new spa and we look forward to welcoming you there!! Glad you enjoyed your treatments and time in the relaxation room too.

See you son, Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Back Once More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I keep returning to Alexandra House Spa because they are, simply put, brilliant.

Maxine and the team are friendly, welcoming, professional and totally and utterly lovely!
Every treatment I have had here has been fantastic! Today i've had an Indian Head Massage and an hour after it's ended I still feel like i'm being enveloped in a giant snuggly hug <3 will be returning next week xxx

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank disenchantedsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Yes, the Indian Head Massage is bliss, I agree! And you still felt relaxed after, which is great news. It's nice when the benefits of your massage last beyond the actual treatment - an extended bonus of your massage!

See you soon then! Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing and blissful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I love this place and visited again this week. It's cosy and comfortable and no matter how few or many guests there are at the same time I always feel like I'm looked after like a VIP! I usually have facials which are great but like to try the other treatments and haven't been disappointed yet. The feeling of walking into a relaxation room after having a treatment is like no other - it's dream-like! The atmosphere is soothing and feels like you're among friends in the relaxation rooms even if you don't know any other guests there. I really recommend this place. Going to spas is a major hobby of mine and this is definitely the finest!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexstead, Owner at Alexandra House Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I like your hobby - visiting spas! Really pleased to hear that you rank ours as the finest - what a compliment! We try to treat everyone as a valued individual and so we're pleased to hear that you feel like a VIP here. And of course that you love our treatments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Maxine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandra House Spa also viewed

 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing