We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy little pub, great scampi!”

The Blacksmiths Arms
Ranked #59 of 576 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tel No (01484) 422529
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cosy little pub, great scampi!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

love it at the blacksmith arms, been a few times now and everytime ive ordered something different. ive got to say the scampi here is lovely! and you get a good plate full of it too! never dissapointed here, such a cosy little place too, especially the seats near the window !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GemmaChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    61
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good solid food with a pint of real ale on the side.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had the steak and was it was really nice. I don't eat steak out as quite ofton I am disappointed. Not this time though, had the surf n turf and for a £2 had loads of scampi on top. Salad was chunky and fresh. Chips were the real deal. I went to the bar and ordered a pint and as I was eating they brought it over to the table, thats proper service. A belting pint also. I bet a certain Gastro pub up the road wishes it could serve food this good. Every table was taken when we arrived at 7.30pm but then tables free at 8.30. Decor could be better as a bit past it but look beyond that and enjoy.

Nothing fancy but better for it perhaps.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great food, good atmosphere, reasonable prices, great little pub, good choices on menu, and great views from garden area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Blacksmiths Arms is one of our local pubs, and one which we regularly visit.
The home-cooked food is always good, and there is plenty of it -- chips are specially
recommended, fresh and large homemade type.
The menu, though not large, has plenty of variety to suite all tastes.
Last week-end, we went with friends on Saturday evening having booked a table
of 5 for 7pm. Arriving in good time the pub was packed with diners, and sitting down
at our table expected a lengthy wait, but within half an hour we were tucking in .
This pub is small, decorations a bit tired, very friendly staff and excellent food, and the
view from the car-park fantastic.
If you are looking for plain old fahioned pub food, without fancy table-cloths and
glittering silverware this is the place. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyWandere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & service, even when busy”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

A friend from Wales staying with us for 2 days offered to treat us to a meal at our local pub, which she remembered fondly from a previous visit.
We had been unable to dine here a week earlier as the tables were all fully booked, so we decided to book a table for us & friend.
This was a wise decision because when we arrived at 7.30 on Friday evening the place was heaving with diners. Nevertheless we were shown to our table immediately, I ordered from the very efficient & pleasant young lady at the bar, and we did not have to wait long before our meals were served.
My wife's questions about what she could have on her lactose-free diet were answered, and she was thrilled with her duck in Cointreau sauce. Our friend said her slow-cooked lamb shank in minted gravy was absolutely delicious, and my battered haddock with real chips & mushy peas was great as usual.
We are indeed fortunate to have such a wonderful food pub five minutes' walk from home!


Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blacksmiths Arms also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blacksmiths Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing