We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure!”
Review of Marimonte

Marimonte
Ranked #89 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are Mediterranean restaurant we provides a unique way of healthy eating. Your dish can be prepared by one of our experienced chef's or on the lava rock. We offer a selection of meat dishes, from our award winning meat supplier, including chef specials.We are on Facebook & Twitter
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I visited Marimonte with course colleagues in May. We were so impressed with the whole package that we returned 2 nights later. The food and service cannot be faulted at all. We had a special offer meal deal that included a main course and dessert with a glass of wine and it was brilliant - you didn't feel like you'd been given all the cheap stuff. We ate some amazing food combinations. The waiter/manager could not be more helpful or courteous. Customer service is obviously high on their agenda, as is value for money, and food quality. If you want to see the fish before it's cooked, that's not a problem. The chef is quite happy to discuss your requirements with you. Nothing is too much trouble. Every single dish that we tried was delicious and beautifully presented. Don't be put off by the area, underneath the railway arches. Once you step inside you will begin to enjoy an amazing culinary experience, and be treated to the most excellent customer service you could possibly ask for. Next time I am in Huddersfield, this will definitely be my first stop.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FyldeCoasterCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    68
    29
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing new restaurant”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We visited Marimonte a few weeks ago for a quick meal before attending a performance at the theatre that evening. The restaurant is quite easy to miss as it is tucked in the railway arches near Buddha Bar. As soon as we approached the door we were welcomed by a staff member who quickly seated us. The decor is beautiful (I barely recognised it as the old Peacock Lounge!) and it feel very intimate as it is quite a small space.

When were there we were still eligible for an early bird menu- which is an excellent deal as it runs till 9pm Mon-Thurs and til 8pm on Friday. We had two courses for £9.95 which were absolutely superb. Along with our meal we also had a bottle of the house wine which was very high quality and good value at only £12.95 a bottle. Before we chose our courses, the waiter actually brought over a platter of the raw seafood that was on special this evening and it all looked amazing. Especially the tiger prawns that were the size of your palm!

We were able to have a quick and affordable meal in a lovely setting in time to make our show at the theatre. It was a real treat to have a restaurant in the centre of Huddersfield which was a bit of change from the usual Indian and Thai restaurants on offer (which I love as well, don't get me wrong!)

Be sure to get there soon before everyone knows about it and you can't get a reservation!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becks032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holmfirth
Level Contributor
227 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“we be going again soon”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

went for my birthday with partner and another couple, we couldn't fault this restaurant, each course was top notch and then the free lemoncellos finished the meal off lovely. the waiter who served us was very pleasent and helpful and even let me have swordfish for starters that isn't on the menu. have planned to go again very soon

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiaHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“another loverly experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our second visit to the Marimonte, it was just as good as the first, if not better as the restaurant was very busy, with a brilliant atmosphere. Steaks gorgous, and service with a smile! Well done Sam, you have created something that Huddersfield really needed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emma848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, lovely atmosphere.”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We went last night (Tuesday) for the first time, having only found the restaurant thanks to trip advisor. Great food and a friendly host. Will definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Airsa_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marimonte also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Marimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing