We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again... Brilliant!”
Review of Marimonte

Marimonte
Ranked #83 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$36
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are Mediterranean restaurant we provides a unique way of healthy eating. Your dish can be prepared by one of our experienced chef's or on the lava rock. We offer a selection of meat dishes, from our award winning meat supplier, including chef specials.We are on Facebook & Twitter
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Yet again... Brilliant!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Came for the early bird special on Saturday. Amazing value for money, portion sizes were spot on as well.
Calum one of the waiters recognised us from our last visit and made sure we were well looked after too, he really is the man!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenBamforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    68
    29
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant in HD1”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We’ve been to Marimonte’s lots of times as a family and have never been disappointed, the food, service and restaurant are all A*.

The early-bird menu is unbeatable for value and quality, I’ve tried the Feta Salad – plenty of Feta cheese, red onions, olives and cherry tomatoes dressed in a delicious garlic olive oil dressing, the Calamari’s are prepared and cooked to perfection, the Seafood Linguine is as good quality as you’d get in the more expensive restaurants, the pasta is cooked perfectly al dente with chunks of seafood in a crushed fresh tomato and garlic sauce with just a hint of spice.

The daily specials board choices are great and hard to decide as they all sound so fab, the Swordfish comes on a lava hot plate which you cook yourself, served with choice of potatoes and veg or salad is definitely recommended.

Even when busy the owner always finds time for a chat.
Definitely would recommend

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marimonte_Hudds, Public Relations Manager at Marimonte, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Three of us ate here last night and had the early bird menu. The food was excellent, the service very good and it's a really nice place. Five stars for everything, and deservedly so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marimonte_Hudds, Public Relations Manager at Marimonte, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your superb review. We look forward to seeing you again at Marimonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Swordfish dinners!!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I took my team out for a team building dinner and just enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The service was great and so was the variety of good food and drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marimonte_Hudds, Public Relations Manager at Marimonte, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your response great to hear that you enjoyed our food. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely food”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Visited Marimonte on Friday 1st March, From the moment we arrived the service was first class we were quickly seated and drinks orders were taken.
I opted for the Venison cooked on the gril, this with a sauce and asparagus and was really well cooked to how i ordered it. My Wife ordered the Surf and Turf on the Hot rock and this included rump steak, Swordfish and prawns the cooking of is was left to my wife as it was on the rock her only concern was cooking the steak too much.
The atmosphere in the restuarant is lively and has a good buzz. The staff are fantastic and friendly and happy to talk you through the menu and make recommendations. The wine we ordered was good and at a reasonable price, In fact the whole menu is good value when you consider the quality of the food on offer.
We were persuaded to have dessert and both choose the Lemon Cheesecake which was light and zesty and a great finish to the evening.
I would have no quarms in recommending Marimonte and i look forward to returning in the not to distant future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davehudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marimonte_Hudds, Public Relations Manager at Marimonte, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed the venison. Look forward to welcoming you to the Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marimonte also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Marimonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing