We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Inns Huddersfield
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Cheshunt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Awful hotel. I regularly stay in travelodges across the country and this is by far the worst.

The little chef is boarded up and closed down. The hotel backs onto a petrol station forecourt and is a shell of a hotel.

No bar, no restaurant. 1 miserable unhelpful staff member in the entire place who refused to give us an extra pillow

Hairs in bed so obviously had not been cleaned properly.

An absolute hole of a travelodge and not cheap at £48!!! Go to the premier inn nearby for an extra tenner!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    21
    25
    13
    19
See reviews for
20
30
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We've stayed at this Travelodge 2 years running the last weekend in December before Xmas, its clean, adequate for our needs, Little Chef on site, bus stop outside where you can get a bus to Huddersfield one way and Leeds the other, so no need to worry about car parking. There's a pub turn left and up the hill towards Leeds, 10 min walk, very good value food & drink for money, plus a pub opposite serving slightly more expensive and possibly better food, but dearer drinks. Easy to find and Mirfield village is not far away with shops and eating places.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for 1 night and although only paid £19, it was still poor. Holes in the sideboard near to where the kettle was. Holes in the bed linen and pillows that can hardly be called pillows. Went to ask for more pillows but got told the hotel was full and therefore there were none available. Stayed in many travelodges and this was the worst - seems like it is pot luck with regards to travelodge!

Room Tip: Don't have room 14!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorcesterBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend because we were going to see Sheffield Wednesday v Huddersfield down the road, it's ok for a night, was cheap but we have been in better, wouldn't recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos_The_Villain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Have stayed at other travelodges before and know what to expect with it being basic. This was terrible though. We arrived late so went straight to bed and on waking up found that somebody previously had been sick down the side of the bed and onto the floor. An attempt had been made to clean it up but it was still clearly visible. Looking at the photos, it looks remarkably like the picture taken in September, which would mean it has been like it for two months!!!

The bathroom was grubby with mould all around the bath. The room had water marks down the wall and across the ceiling, obviously from a previous leak. The sideboard looked like it had been chewed and needs replacing.

The problem is that Travelodge run on reduced staff and obviously need more to get things up to scratch.

Very disgusting and won't be stopping at Travelodge again.

Room Tip: Don't use room 213 or 215 (unsure which one we stayed in)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ibbz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Huddersfield hotels

Cotswolds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Mmm, I want to be as constructive in my feedback as I can, I arrived late in the evening around 9pm and was met my the hotel manager who was very pleasant. I could immediately see that this particular lodge was probably not one on its owners 'renovation list' This was the only time I saw or heard anyone from the staff.

I was allocated my room and duly went to unpack as I was having to go out again.

The room was very basic and the decor was in some need of rejuvenation, but oh dear, the bathroom...I needed to clean it before I could use it !!!! There was mildew around the bath and the back of the sink. I went down stairs to have a word but to no avail and in the end gave up as I needed to go out.

On my return some hours later still no staff and I let myself in with my key. The bed was so uncomfortable I had difficulty getting any sleep, which usually on my travels I have no problem

In the morning on checkout I thought a word is needed for some constructive feedback, alas those ever missing staff were again missing!! so it was keys in the box and away.

I have stayed in Travelodge many times I think they have forgotten they still have this one!

Room Tip: At the back away from passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotswoldsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

DO NOT STAY in this or any other travelodge the hotel is filthy the customer service is disgusting addressing only policies and not the fact that the hotel is a dump!!!! The capets have very nasty sick stains on them right next to the bed, the bathrooms are dated and germ ridden also have a terrible smell!!! The curtains are filled full of dust and full of holes!! I cut my finger quite badly on the bedside table which is chipboard and laminate that is all damged and rough... and get this .........NO HOT WATER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Just received a letter from their customer service dept excusing themselves for all the problems and complaints not even an ounce of remourse for a ruined weekend....WHAT A COP OUT!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother staying here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Bradford M62
Days Inn Bradford M62
#1 of 1 in Hartshead Moor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Huddersfield

Property: Metro Inns Huddersfield
Address: Leeds Road, Huddersfield WF14 0BY, England (Formerly Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Inns Huddersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Metro Inns Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield Hotel Huddersfield
Travel Lodge Mirfield
Travelodge Mirfield
Mirfield Travel Lodge
Mirfield Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing