We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recycled Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metro Inns Huddersfield
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Recycled Travelodge”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here when it was a very tired Travelodge - that was several months ago and the total lack of any refurbishment means it is a truly woeful experience. I've seen the reviews and can only assume these are from members of the company pretending to be travelers or people without any experience of acceptable standards of hotel accommodation.
The only positive points are the micro-wave and fridge and the free w-fi - although you could only connect with appliance at a time.
The beds were terrible. Black mould around the bath. Very poor water pressure at the shower head - more likely the product of a a blocked shower head!
Adverts say there are flat screen tvs - we had a 14 inch crt - the remote wouldn't work and there was only sound on two channels - went to the reception 3 times to complain but no one there. People say it was good value at the price - £33 - when it was a Travelodge the most I paid was £19 - and that was overpriced for the facilities/standard.
The room was smelly but couldn't open the widow to ventilate as you just got the smoke from the various smokers outside the reception door - no attempt to control this from the staff, indeed they were probably the worst culprits.
Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    26
    13
    19
See reviews for
21
31
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a single night for £30. Clean room in need of refurbishment, but this budget hotel has no frills and is the better for it. Ate a microwaved meal, connected to the FREE WiFi and in our room, had a nice relaxing evening and a decent shower. Its not posh, but then again for £30 it was great value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank frsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed one night while going to a local venue. Price only £33 and room can accommodate 3 people so on that basis, absolute bargain. Room was clean and had a very quiet night. An ex-Travelodge so you know what the room will be like. No issues at all for us. The fact you get a fridge and a microwave in the room is amazing for this price. Recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Ok so I booked this room basically because it was £30 very cheap! I wasn't expecting 5* so nore should you as you havnt paid for 5*. As much as I have a list as long as my arm of what's wrong with it I ended up having the best night sleep I've had in any hotel! It was quiet (even on a sat night!) bed was soooo comfy nice comfy pillows and clean bedding. The room had a fridge which was great and a microwave! The let down was the bath, it totally needs regrouping as it had a lot of mould. There was a hole which was obviously punched through between the bedroom and bathroom. Sick stain on the carpet, cigarette burns on the window sill, damp patch on the ceiling where it looks like there has been a leak but now fixed. The room needs new carpet and repainted. BUT honestly next time I visit my friends were deffo going to book here again I know it sounds crazy but the bed really swayed me and the fact was very quiet AND had a fridge! The toilet and bath it's self were clean and nice clean towels I think this hotel just need totally redecorating . Will stay again as cheap as chips!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Jucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Myself and family were visiting friends for a christening in the area, Ended up booking into this Hotel due to the fact that it was the place most of the party were stopping, it’s had a few bad reviews in the past but for one night (and the price) I was happy to take a chance, the room was spacious and had a microwave and fridge which was a welcome addition, some of the fittings were showing signs of wear and tear but still in a serviceable condition, the small site that the hotel occupy’s is shared by a Starbuck's (money off vouchers available in the Hotel reception) and a Spar/garage. The nearest Pub to the Hotel is the 3 Nuns which is around 50 yards away. A mention to the staff also as they were friendly and helpful. we would use it again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The only tip I would suggest is to knock the heater off before you go out for the evening (if it’s n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesham2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Booked for one night. There are no twin rooms but we had a family room with bed settee and double bed. The receptionist cum duty manager cum room attendant was excellent at her job and undervalued by her employees. It is on the same site as starbucks, a minimarket and petrol station. Microwave and kettle in rooms, provide your own food. Main occupyers seem to be contractors/workmen but very quiet. Busy road outside but use the entrance to the petrol station and drive round to avoid crossing bus lanes. This hotel is what it is. If you want toiletries and frippery go to a more up market hotel. I had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a bath, that suited me down to the ground.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

After reading all the bad reviews we thought "no way" especially with it being so cheap aswell but as we wanted it for just a break for a night we decided to give it a shot. The hotel was really clean and spacious, quiet, staff was friendly nothing bad at all to say. We will definetly be going again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#7 of 17 in Huddersfield
314 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
3.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
290 reviews
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Bradford M62
Days Inn Bradford M62
#1 of 1 in Hartshead Moor
198 reviews
3.6 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Huddersfield

Property: Metro Inns Huddersfield
Address: Leeds Road, Huddersfield WF14 0BY, England (Formerly Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Inns Huddersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Metro Inns Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Huddersfield Mirfield Hotel Huddersfield
Travel Lodge Mirfield
Travelodge Mirfield
Mirfield Travel Lodge
Mirfield Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing