We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pub Hotel”
Review of The Woodman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woodman Inn
Ranked #2 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

First class modern room with huge shower really well appointed with quality shower gel etc. Evening meal was far from 'Pub Grub' - lovely woodpigeon with black pudding starter and excellent choice of interesting and very well done 'mains'. Real Ale was excellent too. If you are tired of the hotel chains but like a modern comfy room in an old pub with great food, you really cant do better than The Woodman Inn

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    80
    29
    27
    21
See reviews for
57
141
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed at the Woodman recently with friends for 1 night in rooms 4 & 5. Overall we had a nice stay, with the food and drink being very good quality and nicely served. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was stylish and comfortable with a nice shower room and complimentary toiletries. One thing that did spoil it a little was that we were on the 1st floor and there are rooms above with very creaky floorboards. I'm a light sleeper and even with ear plugs in I could easily hear the people above walking around which they seemed to do all the time. Subsequently my nights sleep was not as good as I'd wish for, but this did not upset us too much and we would return....if we had a top floor room!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms on the first floor unless you can sleep through anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just left after a lovely stay at the woodman inn. Rooms are very nicely decorated with plenty of space, the included breakfast was also brilliant. We will definitely stay at the woodman again and don't understand why there are so many bad reviews. We booked a table at the last minute for dinner and the very helpful staff fitted us in dispite it being packed. Food arrived promptly and was tasty.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon... Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I can only comment on room 10 which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Room was lovely. Lovely bathroom and shower. Dismal breakfast. Eggs Benedict just drenched in melted butter/split hollandaise sauce....inedible and can't believe the "chef" let this leave the kitchen! Wrong breakfast order and no toast offered or brought. Disappointing considering everybody raved about the breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theripsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Unfortunately we only had time to stay for 1 night but will be back now we have found this perfect place to stay, we were warmly greeted by a young man who showed us to our room and asked if there was any thing he could help us with.
The room was not huge but very comfortable, it was furnished to a very high standard whilst still retaining some of the original features of the building.
All the amenities you could need were provided & the attention to detail was much appreciated, ie long lead on the hair dryer, a mirror you could actually use, the bright lighting in the bathroom and many more.The bed was very comfortable too.
Breakfast was delicious with a menu to please everyone's taste, I loved the Yorkshire breakfast, the baked beans were served in a small kilner jar, great idea.
We did not have time to sample the evening restaurant but definitely will next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have direct access from the road, great if you do not want to go through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schatzUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Booked in for a one night stay...WOW..what a stunning place. Our room was stylish, well furnished, spotlessly clean, with a great bathroom and great toiletries!! We were checked in by a polite young man who carried our luggage to our room and even booked us a taxi to take us to our family night out
.
The breakfast was delicious with really good ingredients served to us by efficient friendly staff.

Would highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 with our very own front door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Family of 13 sat down for sunday lunch as a surprise for my mum"s 80th birthday. The Woodman is a most pleasing establishment and has been refitted to a high standard. We ate in the first floor dining room which was ideal for us. The meals were excellent in every respect. The service was friendly and efficient. All in all a good experience and wr shall want to come back. Thanks for making mum"s special day a success.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
3.7 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
733 reviews
4.2 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
6.3 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
540 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodman Inn

Property: The Woodman Inn
Address: Thunderbridge Lane | Kirkburton, Huddersfield HD8 0PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Woodman Inn has been transformed throughout to offer guests a relaxed experience in luxury surroundings.The Woodman Inn offers a warm cozy pub downstairs and a more refined dining experience in our first floor restaurant which can also be hired out privately for weddings/functions etc...We now have 10 double bedrooms & 3 cottages all with luxurious en-suite facilities and toiletries provided by Temple Spa, digital televisions and complimentary WiFi available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Woodman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodman Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing