We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant in Yorkshire... by far!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best restaurant in Yorkshire... by far!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Having been a regular visitor to the Three Acres for many years I have to comment that from the minute you walk into the Three Acres to the moment you leave, the experience is simply magnificent. It's remote setting means that it has become a true dining destination venue in Yorkshire,. If you're staying over then the rooms are fantastic, especially the new suite above the tasting room. which I usually request .The private dining rooms; "The Krug Room" and "TheTasting Room" are exceptional and a must for big parties and the busy walls and great service across the rest of the restaurant make this a truly unique dining expereince. The food is always consistently brilliant; think Yorkshire portions - not fancy taster menus!! But the main reason why it's so special to many of my friends and I is the atmosphere. As far as I have found no restaurant in Yorkshire has managed to re-create the buzz of a friday or saturday night at the 3 Acres. That's what makes it a place you must visit when in Yorkshire - you just have to look at the names of the previous celebritiy visitors' signatures on the walls to know I am right.

Room Tip: New suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csp269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    63
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
62
91
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

You won't starve at the three acres. Yea it's pretentious, yes it's expensive, but that's why it's regulars love it. Location isn't convenient, but that adds to it being special. Nothing can touch it in the area and the food is fantastic. Staff seem experienced. I took a client for lunch to impress him and he was very impressed (maybe because he didn't pick up the bill).

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchy996_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My husband and I have visited this restaurant 2/3 times per year for the last 6 years with friends and family. The last being 23rd December 2010.

We love the atmosphere and have our favourite table in the corner of the main restaurant. We have never been disapppointed in the food and the staff have always been very professional and welcoming.

Our son is a recent convert and has a meal with us when he comes home from abroad.

I do agree with some reviewers that the mark up on the wine and champagne is excessive (not unlike most restaurants) and it is something that UK restaurants need to think about.

The most important thing for us when visiting a restaurant is of course the food. Followed a close joint second by ambience and the quality of staff. We have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredericka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Invited to Three Acres for a meal and to discuss business so decided to stay over. Wish I hadn't. The food is great. Not a problem with that and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms at £120 per night are very disappointing and not worth anything like that amount. I have had the pleasure of staying in far superior rooms at a fraction of the cost. The one I stayed in was dusty, had stains on the blinds and curtains and basically need a good refurb. May visit again to eat but would never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed here whilst visiting Arqiva at Emley Moor; excellent location just 1 minute down the road.
The three acres is primarily a restuarant with a great deal of character and rooms upstairs. The room I had was very comfortable with tea/coffee facilities and very comfy bed, en suite bathroom etc. There are other rooms externally in an annex building. The food in the restuarant was very very good, the menu having an excellent selection which was well cooked. We ate there for both nights of the stay and found it to be worth the slightly high prices. Breakfast in the morning is served in the restuarant and was also very good.
Looking forward to a return visit in the future. Well worth a trip for business or pleasure. Would make a nice overnight stop en-route north for instance.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshallized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Went here for a private party with overnight stay. Arrived to be given a tiny room with single bed, no phone and a 1970's tv. When I went to ask if there were any other options the manager/ owner (who knows) spoke with his back tome - totally disinterested and rude. The evening got worse with the food - three lines to describe each dish, heavy, fat loaded greasy options which looked and tasted horrible. Inappropriate combinations of ingredients, badly cooked and badly presented. My leek tart inparticular was horrible - heavy pastry, greasy leeks and no sign of the alleged goats cheese. Service was slow and surly. In 25 years of travelling for business and pleasure this is the worst place I have ever stayed - final straw - the cold shower

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kc199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Just back from a long weekend at the 3 Acres. What a great pub/restaurant. the place has a worm friendly atmosphere. All the staff are helpful and go that extra mile to ensure their service is of the highest standard.

The rooms were well sized and presented in a country style. The food was also exellent although a little on the expensive side however the staff more than make up for it. The bar area is small but serve the best Olives I have ever tasted. The bar also has a great selection of beers and whiskey.......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWR-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
9.5 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
5.1 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Property: Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing