We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service was terible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“service was terible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

took my girlfreind here for a meal, the service was that bad I had to keep going up to the bar to get my own drinks, the food was really nice but small portions for the price, nice location but when you pay over £100 pounds for a meal you expect service. not as good as ratings suggest and wont be going back as overated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    62
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
57
88
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at the three acres on many occasions and I can honestly say that I have never had a bad meal! We visited a few weeks ago to celebrate my brother's 21st birthday. There was a party of us so we were in the Krug room which is where I also celebrated my 21st and similarly had a wonderful time. As it was a Sunday we ate from the Sunday lunch menu: I had eggs benedict to start which was delicious followed by the haddock which again was lovely. The presentation is superb and I love all of the extra presentational details such as the 'three acres newspaper' that my haddock and chips were served on and the individual pots of mushy peas, curry & tartare sauce on the side. Although I was too full to have a 'big' pudding I had the brown bread ice-cream which I thoroughly enjoyed, I also had a taste of my partners brownie and became incredibly jealous as it was incredible! Thank you to to all of the staff at the three acres for yet another wonderful meal!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungYorkshireCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We booked a table for lunch on Saturday, a group of 10. We all had light lunches/ sandwiches and the service and quality of the food was excellant. As previous reviews have noted it can be expensive and yes £20 for two drinks and a very substantial steak sandwich with salad and chips probably is a lot to pay in West Yorkshire. Nevertheless it won't stop us going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DunBrokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My first visit to the Three Acres was a nice experience the staff are very attentive , bar area
and restaurant have a lovely atmosphere . The food itself was tasty and well presented but i have
had much nicer food without the premium price tag.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRSRHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have visited the Three Acres on a number of occasions for meals and a couple of times have included an overnight stay.
This weekend we visited and stayed in the Master Suite, which is spacious, comfortable and extremely clean. From the minute of our arrival, staff were courteous and attentive to our needs when required, but left you to relax and enjoy everything without feeling pressured.
The food was fabulous, as always, and their cocktail menu is a MUST for cocktail lovers - the "Pink 75" is one of the best Champagne Cocktails I have experienced !!
I love this restaurant, as it is always busy which gives a great atmosphere, yet there are a number of small areas for dining, which makes it more intimate.
Well done - we will be back.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is very spacious with two double bedrooms which makes it ideal for families. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Visited the Three Acres for a birthday treat recently. The food was lovely but a few niggles spoilt the evening for us. Firstly the place didn't feel warm, at one point had to put my coat round my shoulders, not really good when you are eating (I'm a cold person so always dress for that so it wasn't that I was under-dressed!). We were sat in the area to the right of the entrance which is opposite the open kitchen so that could have had something to do with it. Wouldn't want to sit in this area again, we felt it lacked atmosphere, not as nice as the dining area at the far end which is much more cosy. Service was not on the ball as it has been in the past, we were stood at the bar for about 15 minutes before being taken to our table and then after being sat for we'll over 5 minutes had to ask for a menu (on previous visits we have always been given menus whilst stood at the bar). There was another couple who had gone through to the restaurant ahead of us and I heard them asking for a menu after we had ordered our food. Glad to get home to a warm house!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestYorkshireMrsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I was taken to the Three Acres over Christmas, as was, as ever, left slighty disappointed! Service was pretty poor despite the pretentions. Food was good but very over priced. If you like formulaic hotel style food then it's very good, but if you like something a little more creative and homely then it's not for you. It may as well be a Marriott or Great Western!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmiiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.5 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Property: Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and Ebookers so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing