We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We ate here as part of a large party, ranging in age from 22 to 92 and had a wonderful meal. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was beautifully presented and delicious. There was plenty of choice, including interesting vegetarian options. Even though we were a large party all the food arrived at the same time and was hot when it came to the table. The dessert choice was wonderful and for those who could not choose there was a sampler plate to share. A very enjoyable experience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmh1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    63
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
60
88
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Ate here again for Sunday lunch with our friends during the early May Bank Holiday. Staff were very pleasant, but service was abit slow in places. Our food was very enjoyable, and I once again had the prawn and crayfish cocktail followed by some perfectly cooked and tender rib of beef. I do thin Sun lunch is good value, but I do question the value proposition regards the normal menu. Yes, it's good quality, but the price does tend to slightly exceed the quality equation. I'm sure we will revisit for Sunday lunch in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Clearly a big step up from just about any other restaurant in the area - eg: one dining area is named the 'Krug room' (or something like that). Fabulous wine list, menu includes a seafood platter with fresh oysters etc. Sky-high reputation and beautiful setting. Huge car park full of 4x4 BMW's / mercs etc.

Unfortunately, when I last ate there it was a real disappointment: my (very expensive) bottle of burgundy was over warm (volatile even) the pigeon was tough, at this price level one expects considerably better. My daughter loved the 'fish and chips' with mushy peas and chips - but that's not really why one goes to such a place. We kind of felt ripped off. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank me-myself-i-tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This place seems to think it is a gastro pub, but the food is REALLY ordinary and therefore very overpriced. We paid £50 each for our meal, steak and chips and fish and chips. We did have some wine, with it but for £100 we felt we'd been royally ripped off.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

took my girlfreind here for a meal, the service was that bad I had to keep going up to the bar to get my own drinks, the food was really nice but small portions for the price, nice location but when you pay over £100 pounds for a meal you expect service. not as good as ratings suggest and wont be going back as overated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vontiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at the three acres on many occasions and I can honestly say that I have never had a bad meal! We visited a few weeks ago to celebrate my brother's 21st birthday. There was a party of us so we were in the Krug room which is where I also celebrated my 21st and similarly had a wonderful time. As it was a Sunday we ate from the Sunday lunch menu: I had eggs benedict to start which was delicious followed by the haddock which again was lovely. The presentation is superb and I love all of the extra presentational details such as the 'three acres newspaper' that my haddock and chips were served on and the individual pots of mushy peas, curry & tartare sauce on the side. Although I was too full to have a 'big' pudding I had the brown bread ice-cream which I thoroughly enjoyed, I also had a taste of my partners brownie and became incredibly jealous as it was incredible! Thank you to to all of the staff at the three acres for yet another wonderful meal!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungYorkshireCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We booked a table for lunch on Saturday, a group of 10. We all had light lunches/ sandwiches and the service and quality of the food was excellant. As previous reviews have noted it can be expensive and yes £20 for two drinks and a very substantial steak sandwich with salad and chips probably is a lot to pay in West Yorkshire. Nevertheless it won't stop us going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DunBrokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
9.5 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
5.1 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Property: Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing