We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

A local colleague was married here a few years ago, and insisted I spend at least one night during a business trip in May 2013. "The best food in Yorkshire," he said.

Loved the location-- high and windswept-- the ample parking, and the warm welcome. The room was wonderful with lots of light, a very comfortable bed, and a lovely bath. The supper was terrific, a wonderful soup and blood sausage (can't judge the value because my colleague paid); service was friendly and efficient. Slept like a baby and woke to a beautiful dawn through large windows.

Unfortunately I had to leave at 6:30 a.m., and therefore was going to miss breakfast. But the lovely woman setting things up for it would not hear of that. She insisted on packing me up a fresh croissant, some grapes, yogurt, and a few other luscious things in a bag so I could eat on the road.

All in all, I was delighted. Am now trying to make up reasons to return to Yorkshire frequently just so I can stay here as often as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    62
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
57
88
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This time, again, I had the Roast Beef, far better then last time and certainly not warmed up, but a large portion is very large, next time will choose the smaller portion if I decide to have beef. Whilst the lunch time menu appears to be large, there is not much choice, the fish of the day was cooked with some strange foreign sausage rocket and garlic, enough to put off the strongest of constitutions. The prices, well they have god through the roof, Fillet Steak close on 30 quid. This time both the owners were in evidence, one of them totally ignoring people, not better then when they are in harness.

This place is certainly gong down the hill, perhaps as one customer says, try the Kay Arms, wherever this is. £90 quid for lunch and a moderate bottle of wine well, I will not mention this to my bank manager, yes we do still have one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haymaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,023 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,796 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Took the mother in law here for the first time & she loved it. Overall great food & service. Not sure where the towelling hand towels have gone in the gents, as I hate hand dryers.
Mixed grill massive, so gutted I couldn't manage a pud. Great wine list.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Three Acres one Saturday evening in August. On arrival, we received a friendly welcome from the staff and initially sat on a small table in the middle of the restuarant. We felt a little uncomfortable for what we hoped would be a nice intimate meal, so after mentioning it to the waitress, we were quickly moved us to a snug corner. From then on the evening was generally enjoyable. We managed to select a decent white wine to accompany our dinner, which was well presented but unremarkable. All in all, our evening out at the Three Acres cost in the region of £80 for 2 courses plus wine in a good but not a great gastro pub.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevinrt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

As, we have always experienced the food here is very good. The menu now is pure gastro pub and the restaurant non-exsistent. The place is cramped and has obviously given over to the pursuit of maximum revenue. Dining here gives the participents a real experience of what it must be like being a tinned sardine. We spent the evening being knocked and buffeted by both staff and fellow diners, as the place is crammed with a table in every available and some not so available space. It was not a pleasant experience, so much so we curtailed our dinner at the end of the main course and extracated ourselves, with some difficulty, from the mass of furniture, people and staff. We spoke to one of the owners about the issue and he was obviously not in the least bit interested as was manifest from his expression and response. No stars for attitude here. Well, arrogance and indifference to customer needs are the path to disaster. It may take a while, but with this type of behaviour, they will get there.
If you want a great meal in pleasant and enjoyable surrounding, do not go here. If you want good food and a large crowd, go to Subway. It's cheaper.

Room Tip: Premiere Inns or Travelodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnH1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just been at a wedding at the 3 Acres. It was Amazing. I have never been at a wedding and had a choice of what I would like to eat.
It started with a little orchestra playing organised by the bride and Bubbly and Canapés.
Then in our little dining areas for our beautiful meal and drinks.
In the evening we had smaller rooms with everything organise by the Bride and Groom. Then we were served Hot Beef Sandwiches and Fries. It was Yummy.
Then to bed in a great room with views of the moors.
Next morning a smashing breakfast was served,
It is not cheap here but a treat for us all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daviesyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

A short break at the Three Acres was saved by the good food. Dinner proved a success with a straightforward approach to the preparation of fine ingredients. Service was ok, given the restaurant was full to bursting. The hotel room we had was in an annex at the rear if the hotel. It had seen better days and was cramped with the bed fronting the main door such that entry with a suitcase was an obstacle race. At least it was cool in the heat wave. Breakfast was good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
7.0 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.5 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
5.1 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Property: Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing