We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Three Acres Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 21 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at the 3 Acres last Friday night, 10th January 2014, from we arrived until we left the staff were brilliant and the food was great. We were there, with the Family, for my Husbands 70th Birthday and had a brilliant time. The food was all locally sourced and well cooked and presented. Dinner was delicious, the breakfast was full English and was not for the faint hearted. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. We had a really lovely time. We had booked the suite and 2 doubles, the suite was great, with 2 bedrooms, as our 19 year old Grandson shared it with us. We didn't bring our other 2 Grandsons as we felt they were too young.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

The three acres is our favourite place to have dinner, so we where thrilled when our daughter paid for us to stay overnight between Christmas and the new year. We were given room no.1. Although the room was spacious the decor and furniture did not match the dinning rooms downstairs. The 'golden pine' furniture wasn't what we had expected. Both myself and my husband expected a boutique feel to bedrooms
On the plus side however the breakfast was very enjoyable and plentiful. The room was warm and the bed was comfortable. Service was very good

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lirthhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We travelled over from Merseyside to have dinner with twelve other guests. The welcome, the food and wine and most of all the staff can't do enough to ensure you have an enjoyable and memorable time. First class, Team 3 Acres

Room Tip: Room One is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have only been during the day for the lunch menu....love it !! Lovely surroundings, cosy and classy. You don't feel like you are sat close to other people as the tables are situated just the right distance away from other diners. I have been a few times and its a nice treat and not expensive, the food is to die for !! 5 out of 5 !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kellie391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed with my partner for two nights. We arrived very late on Friday night, had been caught in traffic and the kitchen had just closed however after a quick word from the restaurant manager we put our order in and were really pleased with the food.
I had fillet steak and my partner had the seafood platter. The food was great, fresh, tasty and well presented despite the kitchen staff no doubt wanting to go home!

The bar manager was really friendly and helpful with our wine choice.

Our room was very comfortable and warm, which we were glad of as it was a stormy weekend.
Breakfast on both mornings was great and we couldn't have asked for more help from the staff.

I would recommend for the food and the service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittlelassK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband is on a self set quest for delicious pie and he rated the steak, kidney and mushroom pie as one of the best - and I quite agree. It seems kidney has fallen from grace in many pies but it was here, deliciously soft and making a wonderful filling. The dining area we sat in could be described as 'cosy' but if you are a bit nosy you could enjoy many conversations taking place in close proximity!!! (just remember you are also overheard) that said, we did enjoy our visit and will definitely return. The location is great and the staff were lovely and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosalindG194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went to the Three Acres and I expected a fantastic meal, however, I really was disappointed. The quality and taste of food v cost is most certainly not on par. I ordered the pate starter which was nice/slightly above average but not worth nearly £11, followed by the duck which the breast was cooked lovely, however, the skin of the confit of leg was really fatty and unappetising. The overall whole dish was tasteless barring salt. I just put it down to a bad dish so I thought id follow by the marmalade pudding which again was nice/average (very small portion) but not worth the money. I'm really disappointed as I would have loved a good experience here but sadly I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank zk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
2.5 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
790 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#1 of 21 in Huddersfield
408 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
594 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
5.5 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#3 of 14 in Huddersfield
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Acres Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Acres Inn & Restaurant

Address: Roydhouse, Shelley | nr. Huddersfield, Huddersfield HD8 8LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range: £76 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Acres Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to The Three Acres Inn and Restaurant, set in beautiful Pennine countryside with a 40 year reputation for excellent food & first class service and voted Dining Pub of the Year 2015 by Yorkshire Life. Browse this season's menu below, or book accommodation with us here and we look forward to offering you a warm hospitable welcome when you visit us. At the very heart of The Three Acres lies a deep passion for food. We take pride in the calibre of our chefs with their creative flair and keen eye for detail under the lead of Head Chef Tom Davies. Our inspiration comes from food itself and the market fresh produce available for the season, allowing kitchen to craft dishes with a distinct and unique Three Acres style. Dine with us and experience our passion. The Three Acres has been owned by Neil Truelove and Brian Orme for over 40 years. 40 years plus of love of good food, of experience, of professional service and most importantly, of offering a warm hospitable welcome to all our diners and residents. With the next generation, Tom Truelove, Neil's son now involved in the business as a partner, we look forward to many years of continued high standards at The Three Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Three Acres Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Acres Hotel & Restaurant
Three Acres Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing