We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A curry above”
Review of Hussain's - CLOSED

Hussain's
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hussain's Curry Bistro Lindley is Sabeen Hussain's take on cooking and serving a more individual approach to Asian cuisine.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A curry above”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Yet again another excellant meal full of beautiful flavours without being too hot or spicy.

We went with a couple who have also been to the sister restaurant in Brighouse so we was interested to hear their take on the food as we have never had a bad meal but this was their first visit to lindley.

We had the sizzler to started with the usual popadoms and pickle tray which in itself is a work of art with a varying array of small dishes with pickles and spicey vegitables. We then shared a Street sizzler with the haddock massala couldnty fault it.

The main courses again was a selection curries which was again top notch.

Finished off by a slection of Kulfi ices and coffees which we were offered to be taken in the more comfortable surroundings of the upstairs.

The service spot on as usual attentive but not intrussive and we was given the options of waiting between courses which was good so we didnt feel rushed.

All in all a excellant night the couple we was with thought the meal was excellant and will be coming again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    59
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Went along to the Street in Lindley with 3 other couples for a joint birthday meal. Great food, good drinks and great company.

We had the set menu which is offered through the week which is very competitive and value for money. Also we got a nice tier tray with a selection of deserts for all of us to share in the upstairs lounge area.

I burnt my tongue following a dare to eat two chillies (stupid I know, but had a few to drink) and the manager kindly sorted me out with a glass of milk.

Overall would recommend the restaurant to anyone and will be going again.

Thank you guys!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique and friendly restaurant.”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Lovely evening. Diverse menu with plenty of special offers to choose from. We went for the £35.00, 3-course option for two people. This included a 3-tier selection of pickles - 12 dishes in total and most of these went back empty, starters of vegetable tempura and onion bhajis with side salads and spicy pouring sauces, mains of vegetable dopiaza and chicken madras, a bottle of house white and a choice of either a rice or naan each.

Overall: very good value. Some excellent colours and flavours going on. Portion sizes: just right. Well worth a visit. Cosy interior, friendly staff. We were made to feel welcome and will no doubt be visiting again soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DQww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A DELIGHT”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Hearing such good reports we made my first visit to Street Lindley last night and I must say we were certainly not dissapointed.
From being greeted at the door by the owner Sabeen to leaving was an absolute pleasure.
The ambience - service and food was first class. The attention from Sabeen was as good as it gets.
The suggestion that if our choice of curry was not quite to our taste it would be taken back to the kichen and adjusted was a first in our many visits to Asian restaurants.
So pleased we acted on the recomendations and we are looking forward to our next visit.
Thank you Michael and Cath.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dyehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor quality food in a restaurant lacking any ambience”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Maybe I went on the wrong night - a Sunday - but there was only one other couple dining so the whole restaurant lacked any ambience at all. My dining partner and I felt we had to whisper as we talked. The food itself is simply not that good. I've eaten in many Indian restaurants and the food we ordered was no better than our local takeaway. And there would have been more atmosphere at home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank KenTHudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karachiboxer, Manager at Hussain's, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear KenTHudds,
most provincial restaurants will be quiet, especially lateish on a Sunday. A lot don't even bother opening. Your comments are reckless and misguided and provide no direction for us to reconsider our approach. We would express sorrow at any negative experience but not on this occasion as it is insincere. You licked your plates and left a decent tip - what you on about Ken ?

Sabeen Hussain - The person that served you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hussain's also viewed

Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Stocksmoor, Huddersfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing