We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOBODY CAN BEAT THEIR COFFEE!”
Review of Merrie England

Merrie England
Ranked #26 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Huddersfield
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
huddersfield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“NOBODY CAN BEAT THEIR COFFEE!”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I've tried everywhere to better a Merrie England strength and a half coffee but it's not possible. It's £1.95 for a large one with no extra charge for extra strength. Delicious (especially if the milk isn't too watery from being reheated much) I've tried for years to replicate this coffee at home but have failed. The nearest I can get is from my Dolce Gusto (with extra spoon of Carte Noir instant). Also I take home a rum truffle which my partner enjoys greatly, and I've been known to buy a whole (scrummy) apple pie and pretend I've made it!!
Another tip is, if you're on your way to Manchester airport and need a meal for your journey, call in at Merrie England up New Hey Road and take a beef and onion on granary, nicer than any airport offerings.
Staff seem to work there for years too, always a good sign

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Bellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    13
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Merr'yily Rippping off' England”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Used to love going here as a child myself so visited there with my two young daughter's recently on a shopping trip to Huddersfield. We ordered 3 toasties and 2 hot chocolates and got pence change from £15, yes I'm realistic, that's what you expect to pay if it's good but.... We waited 20 mins for the toasties to arrive when it wasn't that busy, when they did finally arrive (with no apology) there were crushed flat, burnt 'teacakes?' containing dried up bacon and the scarce remains of cheese which had obvoiusly melted away in the toastie machine. I could not believe that they deemed these suitable tor consumption, not to mention charge for!! The kids could have made better ones at home..it's not difficult!!! There wasn't any salad garnish to be seen, not that it was advertised, but a nice touch which these days you sort of expect when you are paying eat in prices, not takeaway prices!! I would definately not recommend or go to any of their cafes again!! Think the Merrie England has definately had it's day and should move into current times or move on...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DvineDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Miserable England”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I can remember my Grandma taking me to one of Huddersfield's Merrie Englands when I was kid, growing up in the 70s. I would have a tiny glass tumbler of Coke and she would have a cup of tea. We'd share a vanilla slice.

I would be able to do exactly the same thing with my nieces or nephews today. The Merrie England chain has been a blight across West Yorkshire for as long as I can remember.

The decor is still the same dark, semi-medieval combination of scalloped wood and mucky scarlet. Airless, windowless and classless.

With its low quality bacon butties and tea that smells of chlorine, this is still the cafe your Gran went to. We've moved on. Merrie England hasn't.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLastGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Merrie England Kirkgate Hudds Town Centre”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This chain of coffee shops is an independent family run business with outlets in and around the Huddersfield area. My family and I have visited most of them and especially the one in Kirkgate for over 20 years. They are famous for and serve the best roast beef teacake and homemade apple pie I've ever tasted. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awfully Good Food, (Some) Awfully Bad Staff”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

New Hey Road, Huddersfield

Excellent Food, Excellent Coffee but order taker could be likened to a post-menopausal Rottweiler! Honestly why are these people employed to take your order if they speak to you as if your scum on the bottom of their shoe?? I love the food at Merrie England but I’m afraid some of the staff need to know that the customers are there out of choice and will be paying for goods which eventually pay their wages i.e. no customers no pay cheque! Go figure? One other complaint is that the conservatory fills with car exhaust fumes from the drive through when the doors are open in summer. So until the staff go on a customer care course I will be getting my next coffee and baked goods from Greggs

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pennine_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merrie England also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Merrie England? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing