We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding ice cream parlour and cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yummy Yorkshire

Yummy Yorkshire
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Yummy Yorkshire is an award-winning, artisan ice cream producer, making the most delicious luxury dairy ice cream using ingredients sourced as close to their Yorkshire farm as possible. The onsite ice cream parlour and restaurant sells speciality coffees and teas, homemade cakes as well as a selection of freshly cooked food by the resident chef. Children are also very welcome at Yummy Yorkshire and are catered for with their very own hot and cold children's menu. An outside garden area is available with children's toys in the warmer months and during the summer holidays, Yummy Yorkshire converts one of its barns into a Play Barn with indoor go karts and Little Tykes ride on for the toddlers. Yummy Yorkshire hosts regular events for customers throughout the year including Easter Family Days, Open Farm Sunday, Tractor Fest, Spooky Halloween and Christmas Events in December. The site also hosts Wedding receptions in both the barn and the fields for marquees, yurts and tipis.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding ice cream parlour and cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Yet another fantastic visit to Yummy Yorkshire!! We have visited the parlour on numerous occasions and we have never been disappointed. The ice cream is gorgeous, so many different flavours to try and the food served is delicious. The cafe is a delightful place to eat in and the staff are always friendly and helpful. My children are massive fans too. Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    80
    31
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“What a lot of hype for an average cafe!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've had lunch here 3 or 4 times in the last couple of years and actually I don't think the food is as good now as it used to be. On my first visit I had a fantastic ploughman's, with one of the best pork pies ever, but now it's just a very limited menu of very ordinary sandwiches and cakes - my sausage and egg bap was perfectly ok but nothing special. As for the ice cream, I do wish they wouldn't try so hard with unusual flavours - in a blind tasting I would have had no idea that mine was damson, and it certainly wasn't "yummy", just bland and fairly creamy.

They try very hard to be child-friendly so it's a shame that the barn play area for young children is so run down, with virtually all the ride-on vehicles broken. If this facility is to be offered, then it has to be maintained.

Perhaps it will get a face-lift over the Winter - I do hope so!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Funny we have started something new this week and suddenly a couple of reviews like this after a fairly decent history. Have we ruffled someone's feathers? If this is in fact genuine then I would love to know where is the hype? We 'hype' ourselves up for the ice cream we make as we have won enough awards to justify that..surely? If you want average ice cream flavours then there are plenty of other places around doing that...however, we do have 16 flavours for you to choose from and offer samples so if you are taking a punt on something new then please ask for a taste. If it's not to your liking I'm pretty sure there will be something in the remaining 15 that will tickle your taste buds.

As for a limited menu we've got so much to offer now we've had to separate things into breakfast and lunch menus. We adjust menus according to what's seasonal, what's selling just like any other place that cares about what they produce.

The play barn...well I could write a book about that one! There is over a £1,000 worth of John Deere equipment in there that is constantly being maintained due to adults sitting on them or children well over the age of 7 playing on them (fairly frequently without any supervision whatsoever or cursory glance to check all is in order). We have learnt to take it as part of the territory that when you provide something unsupervised for free then some people respect it (thank you) and others don't.

We are not arrogant we don't profess to be perfect...hard working absolutely...the whole team are and passionate....some people get that other's don't. I haven't agreed with every comment you have made but we all read trip advisor and we draw on our enthusiasm to constantly get it right to ensure that any constructive criticism is acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“greasy breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Dropped in to try the new breakfast expecting a treat alas was not to be. The price was the first shock 6.95 and that is without tea. Add a pot of tea and are looking at the one of the most expensive breakfasts in the area. Was it worth it? Afraid not. Far too greasy, bacon over done and leathery. Sausages better than processed but not great. Beans were only just warm and came in a separate small bowl, what's that all about?
Overall not a value brekky in my opinion. There should also be an option of a smaller brekky, maybe with one of everything.
When asked if we enjoyed it I have to say it seemed as though the staff member asking didn't really care, shame!! Will i breakfast there again? No there are better value places nearby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rufforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Gosh we were all flabbergasted to receive your review. Our breakfast have gone down exceptionally well since we started, in fact some customers have been 4 times this week. I'll try and tackle your issues one by one. As for price, there are 11 items on our Full Breakfast plate so we call it full breakfast for a reason. We have done lots and lots of research before we started our breakfast and we have always priced our food as 'good value for money' and we have never been criticised for that so that is a big shock. We are certainly comparable with other places we would consider comparing ourselves with. We are not a greasy spoon.

On the issue of greasy...we couldn't do more to reduce the fat on the plate, the bacon is trimmed, the sausages (which I have to add have always received rave reviews) are not processed, far from it. We work with local butchers who are equally passionate about their food. The beans are in a pot so that they don't spread all over the plate. A personal choice but if you find it offensive the answer is simple...tip them out.

We offer lots of other breakfast options so there is plenty of choice without having to produce an A3 breakfast menu with every single preference catered for. We do care what our customers think of our food and we have been asking all week for constructive feedback. If they didn't care they wouldn't ask. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy it. It feels a bit disheartening to be knocked when we have only just begun but sadly the people that truly enjoy what you do aren't always looking to race to trip advisor to do a review. However, we take on board constructive criticism and constantly strive to keep our customer new and frequent satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ice cream paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

After our second visit to this charming little farm I can safely say...THE BEST ICE CREAM is to be had here!! The array of wonderful flavours is an absolute joy.My personal favorite being York shire parkin. We attended a pie night and sampled the best pie and chips.Traditional fare served with a smile.All in all a great Friday night out..Got our next visit already booked..Thankyou Louise and staff for your hospitality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joklavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you very much. We love the phrase 'ice cream paradise'. Pie night was lovely..Jacqui's chips are to die for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy scrummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

What can I say this must be the best ice cream this side of Italy. We were staying at the campsite just down the road and somebody said you have to try the ice cream up the road, so that afternoon we pop up there and it did not disappoint. There is an amazing array of flavours plus small deli. Indoor and out door seating and the staff were very friendly all in all a veryplesent experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grahamk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yummy Yorkshire also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Hepworth, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Yummy Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing