We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Yummy Yorkshire

Yummy Yorkshire
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Based in the heart of the Pennines on the West/South Yorkshire border, Yummy Yorkshire makes the most delicious artisan ice cream using fresh milk from its own Holstein herd combined with ingredients sourced as close to their Yorkshire farm as possible. The innovative ice cream producer has achieved great things since it first opened its doors in 2007. Yummy Yorkshire is the proud owner of 18 Guild of Fine Foods Great Taste Awards. The farms rustic ice cream parlour has recently been extended to create a stunning new 80 seater restaurant 'The Hide & Hoof' which is stylishly decorated in keeping with the farms history with milking cluster lights and tractor seat bar stools. The ice cream parlour, 'The Parlour' has also been given an uber cool overhaul and the Hayloft seating area has been created with views across West & South Yorkshire. The restaurant and parlour are open every day from 9am until 6pm and late in the restaurant on a Saturday from 7pm with an a la carte menu.
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Super ice cream with loads of flavours and excellent coffee. A really super place for a light lunch or snack.

Thank Chippyandthegingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 377 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Went for full breakfast, it was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully . No grease at all, the thick toast was to die for! My The beans came in separate pot which stopped everything getting soggy. Never been before but w
e will definitely return!

Thank CLSMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have visited a couple of times recently for late breakfast , the bacon and egg sandwiches are excellent along with milkshake, which is a favourite for our son, but on each occasion the place has been let down by service.
The staff are lacking smiles, don't give the impression they are happy and the service in relation to both the till to order food speed and efficiency together with basics such as cleaning tables is lacking.
The place is busy and we have called more than once so overall a place to visit and try but frustrating when it could be so much more as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rowleyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The team have been criticised a few times about lack of smiles and this has been discussed at length during team meetings. The team are at a bit of a loss but I do feel that sometimes concentrating and getting on with your job can be construed as not smiling…I'm not sure…we constantly discuss this.

During extremely busy times when people are waiting for tables sometimes you might have to sit at the table before it is cleared but this is always dealt with as quickly as possible. This is the exception rather than the norm. We only have 9 tables so during busy times demand is exceptionally high. We hope that you will visit us again, maybe off peak so you can experience the excellent customer service that the majority of our customers enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We called for lunch semi hoping that breakfasts would be served all day, but as that was not the case we ordered hot sandwiches instead. The Adult Fish Finger Sandwich in particular was very disappointing! 4 normal fish fingers in a white T cake with tartare sauce but no garnish of any sort. The menu made it out to be something special!

The tea was good (a large cup rather than a tea pot) with a lovely tiny biscuit on the side and the cafe itself is nice. The waitresses were friendly but it would be better if they took your order at the table rather than going to the counter to order.

Maybe we just made a bad choice, but having passed here many times and looked forward to calling in we were a bit disappointed.

Thank Value_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I don't think we over describe the adult fish finger sandwich with the line 'A favourite served with 100% cod fillet fingers with lashings of tartare sauce'. That is all 100% true and there is no mention of garnish. We serve our sandwiches in very large teacakes so we don't add garnish and the sandwich is priced accordingly. We note you were not happy with it but that is the second biggest seller on our menu so maybe t just wasn't for you.

We don't take orders at the table as we are a relatively small venue, however as we grow this is something that we want to add. Most coffee shops don't offer this service so at the moment we feel it's suitable for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Chose to eat lunch from a small menu. All sandwiches served were enjoyable. We followed with the home made ice cream which was delicious. Perhaps a garnish on the sandwiches would help with the overall appearance..... Salad or chips? This doesn't detract from the good food, nice environment and the friendly staff. Will certainly eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yummy Yorkshire also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Hepworth, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Yummy Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing