We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite local spot for lunch”
Review of Yummy Yorkshire

Yummy Yorkshire
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Yummy Yorkshire is an award-winning, artisan ice cream producer, making the most delicious luxury dairy ice cream using ingredients sourced as close to their Yorkshire farm as possible. The onsite ice cream parlour and restaurant sells speciality coffees and teas, homemade cakes as well as a selection of freshly cooked food by the resident chef. Children are also very welcome at Yummy Yorkshire and are catered for with their very own hot and cold children's menu. Yummy Yorkshire hosts regular events for customers throughout the year including Easter Family Days, Open Farm Sunday, Tractor Fest, Spooky Halloween and Christmas Events in December. The site also hosts Wedding receptions in both the barn and the fields for marquees, yurts and tipis.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favourite local spot for lunch”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Our favourite spot for a quick lunch at the weekend or when working from home on a Friday. Can highly recommend the BLTs, Piri Piri Chicken and Vanilla Latte and Earl Grey Tea with a pot of hot water and milk!!! Staff always welcoming and the ice cream is fab too! Will be returning many times!

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    106
    36
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“nice ice cream but..”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Called in one sunny lunchtime. There was a queue outside the door so almost drove straight out again but didn't. On further investigation it appeared that the queue was for the ice cream and there was another order point for other food. (More on that later)

We found a table ,decided on our selection and ordered at the desk at which point you also pay upfront.

Several different sandwiches were ordered an promptly arrived. The beef sandwich got the thumbs up but the pulled pork sandwiches were a little disappointing. Once the initial hit of bbq sauce had gone there was nothing...no depth of flavour. Also the sandwiches did not come with any salad etc. to be fair the menu doesn't mention that sandwiches do have a salad but I for one was disappointed with the presentation.

Now having eaten the sandwiches (for they were edible but not the tastiest I've had) we decided to have a sweet.

Two sweets were chosen from the food menu and the rest from the ice cream menu. When we went to order from the food order point we were told that we should be ordering from the ice cream order point. At this point the queue for the ice cream was still out of the door with maybe 20 people queuing.

Now this is my biggest gripe. Having just spent over £30 pound on food we were expected to queue in the ice cream queue despite the fact that what we were ordering was sweets that needed to be eaten sat down.i.e not cornets. Also despite the fact that two of the sweets were from the food menu and despite the fact that we had already spent more than £30 there.

The member of staff did say she would serve us this time but in future we would have to queue in the ice cream queue.

If this is the policy of this establishment then it is so wrong.Why should clients have to queue with others who are only there for a cornet etc. having already spent money in the restaurant. Sorry guys but you've got that wrong.

Ok gripe over. The ice cream was excellent!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I'm am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to Yummy Yorkshire. We have been doing plenty of development on our new menu as we continually seek to keep things fresh and interesting here. Our sandwiches are very popular and we focus on what we are good at using locally sourced or home reared ingredients so there is no scrimping on quality and taste. I cannot understand why you were told that normally you would need to queue when you were selecting sundaes or waffles as this is not normally our policy particularly for customer who already occupy a table within the restaurant. However, I will ensure that this issue is raised and addressed accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy indeed!”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This place does what it says on the tin, offers yummy ice cream in many flavours. They also offer other lovely food. The hot beef sandwich is a firm favourite. Occasional special events such as falconry. In summer, a barn is converted into a go kart race track for little ones. A delight.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoFSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ignored by staff”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Attempted to eats here this afternoon...I have eaten a cream tea here previously and really enjoyed it but today was poor. Granted it was busy but we were stood waiting for ten minutes and just ignored by staff...no one told us that it would be a few minutes for a table to come clear or offered us a menu to view while waiting. We ended up walking out....poor customer service, well none existent to be truthful which is a shame because it's a great lil cafe.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
I was so sorry to read your review of our business. Our cafe does get very busy during weekends and holidays and clearly we were in the thick of our peak service when you called. However, that is no excuse for not acknowledging you and I apologise for this. It is usually our policy to greet anyone waiting for a table and give them an indication of how many people are waiting for food to help you gauge how long you will have to wait for a table. The team here are mortified that you had a bad experience and hope that you will call again to allow us to show you the best of Yummy Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and really great ice cream as well result!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Visited this place last Friday and although it was full, obviously a good choice, the staff were really helpful, asking if I wanted a seat as we waited. I had a stew and Yorkshire pud main course which was really tasty it had loads of meat and veg as well. They're was loads of gravy left so I asked for some bread to mop it up, well you can't waste good stew gravy can you. They brought me bread at no cost and yummy it went down a treat. This meal was all topped off with a farm produced ice cream which was great. Go and enjoy yourself but be prepared you may have to queue but it is well worth it honest.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brackendale2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you very much we are glad you enjoyed both the food and our ice cream
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yummy Yorkshire also viewed

Hepworth, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Yummy Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing