We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise!”
Review of Yummy Yorkshire

Yummy Yorkshire
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Yummy Yorkshire is an award-winning, artisan ice cream producer, making the most delicious luxury dairy ice cream using ingredients sourced as close to their Yorkshire farm as possible. The onsite ice cream parlour and restaurant sells speciality coffees and teas, homemade cakes as well as a selection of freshly cooked food by the resident chef. Children are also very welcome at Yummy Yorkshire and are catered for with their very own hot and cold children's menu. Yummy Yorkshire hosts regular events for customers throughout the year including Easter Family Days, Open Farm Sunday, Tractor Fest, Spooky Halloween and Christmas Events in December. The site also hosts Wedding receptions in both the barn and the fields for marquees, yurts and tipis.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Went with two friends following a morning walk on the trans Pennine. Two of us had the egg benedict, the plate was lovely and hot, the rosti crispy, lots of smoked salmon and the poached egg was cooked to perfection. If I was really being critical the hollandaise had little taste. The other friend really enjoyed her bacon, sausage & egg sandwich. The staff we top notch, couldn't do enough and listened to my request of not being served the coffee until the food was served. The only real disappointment was that as a diabetic I couldn't have any ice cream, but the other two really enjoyed theirs. Be prepared that as a working farm there is a strong aroma, so we don't recommend sitting outside :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are glad you all enjoyed your food. The chef has seen your comments about the sauce as we take all feedback seriously. The aromas aren't around all day but we are a working farm and we need the cows for ice cream but we are glad you had a good visit and the staff were helpful. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    100
    35
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent lunch, great service & atmosphere!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

One of my children's favourite places to visit, I often get asked if we can go to Yummy Yorkshire for an ice cream!

We last visited on a busy Friday lunchtime and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the food and service were excellent.

I can highly recommend the signature dish, Eggs Benedict, it was truly delicious. Children enjoyed their lunches but more importantly their ice cream, they never deviate from Midnight Mint, they LOVE it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback and we are glad your children rate us as their favourite place. We have lots planned this year so make sure you get involved. Who know by the end of the summer you might have a bigger taste portfolio than midnight mint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great ice team, good lunch food, nice area and play barn in the spring/summer”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My kids love coming here, mainly for the ice creams and the play barn with the tractors, bikes etc.... In the summer they usually have outdoor play/picnic areas too so kids can have a run around outside safely. Only draw back is as it is so popular it can be tricky to get a seat and when you do it's quite cosy and squashed to tables next to you. Could do with smaller tables, or bigger premises now!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank baileyhawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for the kind comments. We would love to expand...watch this space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food was amazing but the staff were not very friendly”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went with my mum , sister and 6 week old baby. We went to the till to order sandwiches and tea’s which totalled over £20, to start we were looked at as though we were strange for wanting bbq and apple sauce on our hot pork rolls, we then asked if we could have a tab as we weren’t sure if we would have enough room for pudding and only had card to pay, we were told no, to get cakes there and then and to note the minimum card spend! We paid for what we wanted so far and sat down. The food was amazing the cleanliness of the cafe and toilets was good but i strongly fault the staff and customer service. On leaving with a pram a member of staff came towards us as though we were invisible and we had to move backwards to let her past when I would usually expect staff to stand aside for customers... strongly doubt will go again despite the amazing sandwiches.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jezz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Yummy Yorkshire, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I'm so sorry that you experienced poor customer service when attending our premises. I will try and address your points to ensure that we do take customer feedback seriously. We have had to adopt of policy of customers paying for their food on ordering as we have experienced difficulties in the past with keeping track of customers as they roam around the farm. We have tried to allow customers to run a tab in the week but then when they visit on weekends when we are much busier they expect the same tab system to run and we then experience difficulties. So we have found it easier whilst we are still doing counter service to keep to one policy. Table service is our future plan as we grow.

I am flabbergasted that a member of staff would blatantly walk in your path without allowing you to pass first. This is basic customer service and I am absolutely positive that this would not have been done intentionally but nether the less I must apologise for this.

We always take extra care to assist customers with young children as the cafe is not the easiest environment to negotiate with a pram.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favourite local spot for lunch”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Our favourite spot for a quick lunch at the weekend or when working from home on a Friday. Can highly recommend the BLTs, Piri Piri Chicken and Vanilla Latte and Earl Grey Tea with a pot of hot water and milk!!! Staff always welcoming and the ice cream is fab too! Will be returning many times!

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yummy Yorkshire also viewed

Hepworth, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Denby Dale, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Yummy Yorkshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing