We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Bar, Brilliant Food, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neaversons Tea House & Restaurant

Neaversons Tea House & Restaurant
Ranked #166 of 568 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Bar, Brilliant Food, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fancied something to eat after going from bar to bar, decided we would try eating here as I would usually eat at a bar down the road. the pulled pork sandwich was incredible which came with sweet potato fries the ordred a side of tumbleweed onions (similar to onion rings) and some home cooked chips. Me and my girlfriend shared and there was more than enough. The bar man served everything on rustic wooden platters which was a really nice touch along with realising we were sharing so cut the sandwich in half and put hald of every thing on 2 platters.

The food was not the only thing that made an impression. The bar is very well set out and is decorated nicely, with old tea pots and glass containers along the walls is a reallt nice touch. The beers and drinks available were also very impressive, with a lot of different lagers/ales on tap along with a long list of cocktails.

Really enjoyed my visit here and will definitely eat here again in the future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    25
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Saturday shopping lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I visited here with a female friend whilst out shopping. we had visited before the changes and enjoyed it. However, on this occasion we were less impressed the new menu was better suited to young folk who would like fish and chips or burgers. I had the falafel flat bread which was tasty but cold, accompanied by sweet potato chips which were extremely well cooked! overall we were disappointed with the food.The service however was good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

First visit with a friend for lunch since the changes
We don't like the changed menu. Nothing to tempt "Ladies who lunch"
The atmosphere was very different as well. The place was empty until nearly 2.00pm. when people started drifting in.
More of a place for young people just wanting burger type food and an alcoholic drink.

Hope the changes work out, but sorry after being once a week visiters we won't be back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MillsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Have eaten here a few times at lunch now. A small menu but really tasty food. I must admit that I have now settled on the Falafels and Sweet potatoes with homemade flatbread. Portions are generous.
The place used to be a bit on the pretentious side, trying to be an upmarket tea room. The food was good but a bit pricey. They have now gone for the bar/boho thing. I think this suits much better. Service can be a little slow when it gets busy but the staff are very friendly and the wait is worth it.

In the evening they change over to a bar only. It manages to keep the same vibe and has a good mixture of young and old. A bit weird when I first went there in the evening as loads of people seemed to be drinking tea from teapots; turned out to be Teapot cocktails, very cool.

I wish the place the best of luck and will definately be returning for saturday lunch in the near future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Huddersf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Love this place. I rarely venture to that area in the town but worth it for this gem. Enjoyed my fish finger sandwich on granary and my sister enjoyed her soup. But we feel a weekend brunch menu and opening a little earlier with this offer would be a really lovely way to start a weekend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoFSaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Neaversons Tea House & Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Neaversons Tea House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing