We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful food and a genial host”
Review of Jannat Restaurant - CLOSED

Jannat Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My pal and I gasped when the bill for dinner arrived. We'd had a large plate of starters that included onion bhajee and chicken tandoori, a variety of excellent curries from the buffet, a dessert, a couple of cokes and some lassi. The total for two people: £16.60. If there's a better bargain in Yorkshire, I'd like to find it. But there are other reasons why this smart restaurant is worth seeking out. The Punjabi food is unlike any other in town. On the a la carte, for example, can be found Lahori Maghaz Masala, which brings lamb brains boiled in turmeric water, fried in butter with green chillies, ginger and tomatoes, and Balochi Dumba - 'lamb joints cooked in red gravy with traditional Punjabi spices, fried in ghee'.
The menu does not play the usual tiresome variations on lamb, chicken, prawns but echoes a domestic style of cooking whose spicing is unusually subtle. The evening buffet included a brilliant vegetable masala, some first-rate chicken, outstanding perfumed lamb and dhal with enough garlic to ward off whole squadrons of vampires. The restaurant was built by Mohammad Akram whose genial front-of-house presence is another reason to visit. Everything here, from the cutlery and crockery to the welcome and service is thoughtful. Alcohol is not permitted in the restaurant but with food of this character, who cares? What a find.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MrEccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review for our Restaurant. We are glad you liked the set up and the food. we are also happy you appreciate the different approach in our a la carte menu. We feel the dishes on offer give a better and more accurate flavour and culinary experience of true punjabi cuisine, than other restaurants in the area. we are also glad you are willing to look past the no alcohol rule, as this deters many customers that unfortunately do not taste the food we have to offer.

Once again, thank you for providing us with this review and we hope to see you dining at Jannat Restaurant again in the near future. Next time why not try the Saag or Paya, two of Punjabs more flavoursome dishes. They will not disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

I had a great meal at Jannat. We were really looked after by the staff, we opted for the buffet and as myself and my friend are both vegetarian, they made us an extra veggie dish, even though there were 3 yummy options in the buffet already.

The place looks great, with nice furniture and pretty crockery. The food was all excellent and I was very full afterwards and the bill only came to £14 for 2!

The only negative was it was assumed when we walked in that we would be having the buffet, they do have a lovely ala carte menu and I think a lot of people would like to have the choice!

I hope this place does really well, lovely welcoming staff, great food and great value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank vic198031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for such a great review. Sorry it took soo long to reply to it, we've been busy trying to improve the customer experience at Jannat Restaurant. We are glad you liked the food and the price. We are also sorry that it was assumed you wanted the buffet. This has been pointed out and now every customer is asked whether they would like the a la carte, buffet or our new set menu sent straight to the table.

Once again thank you for taking your valuable time out and reviewing our Restaurant. Hopefully we will see you dining at Jannat Restaurant again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I like trying different places, so this new restaurant was too much to resist. I was NOT disappointed. The staff were very friendly & welcoming, the food was delicious, with a great choice for non meat eaters and the price was so low, I'd have been happy to pay double!

There are enough 'run of the mill' Indian restaurants in the Huddersfield area and so this authentic change was a delight for my taste buds. There are also plenty of pubs nearby, so it doesn't need to be an issue that it's not a licenced restaurant. Why dampen this magnificent taste anyway?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LimaLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Hi, thank you for the excellent review of our Restaurant. We are sorry it has taken this long to reply to it. We have taken your comments on board and are working to keep the dining experience to the high standard you expect from us, while trying to improve aspects to make the experience even more enjoyable for all our lovely customers. We have purposefully tried to create a menu that is different yet authentic to the true Punjabi taste, and we are delighted you noticed this effort. We are continuing to experiment and improve our dishes while maintaining that authentic taste you enjoyed when you visited Jannat Restaurant. Our Chef is very adaptable in his cooking and will obligingly cook authentic Indian meals to each customer's taste, whether they prefer to choose from the menu or simply ask for a certain dish, they have enjoyed in another restaurant, to be made with true and authentic taste.

Once again thank you for taking your valuable time out in writing a review for us and we hope to see you dining at Jannat Restaurant again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I was pleasantly surprised to find authentic Indian food here in their eat as much as you like buffet. We were a party of 10 and although we had ordered a few extra things, the cost was just £10 per person. Meat dishes were full of meat. The selection was good for the price paid.

To gain more business, the owners may have to compromise on their personal beliefs and sell alcohol or allow people to bring their own. However, I do not miss this and enjoyed their mango lassi.

Would certainly recommend it. There is free car parking on the side of the restaurant too. Go as far as you can drive and when you see the restaurant and feel that you are about to drive into the bus station, car parking is available on the other side of the fence between the bus station boundary and their building.

They offer an ala carte menu too and its looks good. If you want to sample good Indian (not Bangladeshi or Balti!) food then you must try this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HEC2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review for our fledgling Restaurant. Sorry for the late response to this review.

We are glad you enjoyed our food and we hope to see you and the rest of the party members continuing to enjoy the dishes we make. We have taken your concerns/comments on board and are working on making the Jannat Restaurant dining experience better. Although we are aware that alcohol on the premises may aid the number of customers dining here, we are unable to allow alcohol into the building. This ensures certain customers' and staff members' beliefs are taken into consideration and accommodated. as mentioned in a previous response, there are many bars and pubs in the vicinity to enjoy a drink. We would love for future customers to dine with us and utilise our convenient location to help other local businesses grow along with us.

Once again we are glad you enjoyed your meal at Jannat Restaurant and appreciate the time and effort you have given us in writing such a wonderful review.

Hope to see you again at Jannat Restaurant, where we promise to try and make your dining experience even better than last time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We visited this punjabi restaurant a few months ago not realising that it is alcohol free but decided to stay anyway. The menu was perhaps a bit limited for people who like the tradional style curry, but there were some interesting choices and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The decor was very nice and and the staff were friendly and attentive, if perhaps a bit too attentive at times, but given that we were the only customers there at the time you would expect that. It is definitely worth a visit, although the purists of the world might be the only ones to try it. To be totally alcholol free in this area may not be a good idea, and hopefully won't prove to be its downfall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2CeeGees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannatrestaurant, Manager at Jannat Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for such a great review and we appreciate the time you took out to write about us.

We have taken your comments on board and are working on making the Jannat Restaurant experience better for all our customers.

Although we appreciate your concern about the strictly alcohol free nature of our restaurant, we are aiming to construct an environment which both encourages our customers to enjoy our food and make it family friendly, while also accommodating the staff's and certain customers' beliefs. We hope our potential customers understand and respect this. Those who wish to consume alcohol have a plethora of friendly pubs and bars very close to our restaurant.

We hope you enjoyed our food soo much that you will visit us again and leave with an even better experience to share with your family, friends and Tripadvisor review readers.

Thank you once again and sorry for the late response.

The Jannat Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jannat Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing