We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Top Curry, again and again, nothing fancy !”
Review of The Raj

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Raj
Ranked #158 of 573 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just Top Curry, again and again, nothing fancy !”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Went to the Raj on a cold wet Tuesday night, it wasnt busy so the service was especially quick and efficient.
Seekh Kebabs for starter cooked to perfection along with a tender lamb jalfrezi they added chick peas and spinach at my request, fantastic taste, top curry and great service.
I am surprised that this place is not rammed full every night of the week.
I would advise booking on a Friday and Saturday as we have missed out before by not booking in advance.
Good Curry, lots of choice, Very Good Price, Great Service what more do you want this is not a fancy place just great value for money, take your own alcoholic drink as they dont have a license !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good honest curry, great service, always.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

been going for years, never had a bad curry.
Nice staff and owners really helpful.
Great service, great curry at a great price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“just good basic indian food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The raj is not one of the fancy Indian restaurants it is tidy without being posh , The table cloth may have been stained but the food was very good kebabs and baghees good curries and the nan bread was perfect ,very reasonable prices, a great place for a cheap night out as you take your own drinks. will definitely be returning.. Nearly forgot to say, the service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terrierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Really nice local curry place”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Havnt been here for years and just decided at the last minute to go . What friendly nice staff who took the time to chat and were very polite . As its take your own alchol they were there with glasses and bottle opener etc . nothing too much . had pickle tray poppadoms 2 sizzling starters, special keema karahi , lamb shaslik , keema rice and chappati for £25 . Wish id taken my phone to take pictures . Will be returning .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Must be the best authentic curries in Yorkshire.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

As a family we've eaten at the Raj since it opened and at Solos before that, Solo and Gaf are both great hosts, but the thing we go for is the food! I live away from the area most of the year, but the food I always eat on my return is from the Raj, i have it served Asain style and I'm never disappointed. My favourite is Fish Khari, closely followed by Lamb Sag . The interior decorations have just been completed and look good, but my advice is if you want a great curry tell them how you like it and you will become a convert like me

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raj also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing