We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cocina - CLOSED

La Cocina
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very Nice palce with a great ambience and good food. Love the lava rock steak thing. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the surroundings very comfortable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    17
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thursday night treat”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We fancied something a little less formal on a Thursday night and wanted food to suit both our children and our parents. The children couldn't have been made more welcome, with all food made available to them, just in smaller portions. The various tapas we had were lovely - would highly recommend the calamari! We ended up staying for hours and had a lovely relaxed evening so I am planning to head back for tapas with friends next week.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank medgarparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

17of us went to La Cucina for a family birthday meal. The food and service were excellent. We look forward to our next visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tempting Burgers”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was lunching with a friend and we usually eat at 'Bubble and Squeak' deli in Lindley which we love. However, when we met we saw a board outside La Cocina which is two doors from the deli, advertising home-made Beefburgers. Having eaten tapas at La Cocina in an evening we knew that we could rely on the quality of food and service. Most people love a burger and we were very tempted, so in we went.
We were greeted by very friendly staff and were quickly seated with our order being taken promptly. I had the plain beefburger and my friend opted for the Chicken Breast Burger, both of which were served on home-made white bread with salad garnish and, best of all, superb fat chips. The price was excellent at just £5.95. We had mineral water with our meal, and hot drinks afterwards; although alcohol is available. The food was delicious and we were disappointed that we were too full to try one of the mouth-watering desserts.
If you are not tempted by the beefburgers there is a range of lunch/brunch options available.
We still love the deli but will definitely go back to La Cocina, both at lunch time and also in an evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We went to La Cocina when it first opened and we were not overly impressed so we were reluctant to return. Recently a number of our friends and colleagues have raved about this restaurant so we thought we would give it another go. We went for lunch on my husband's birthday in January and were pleasantly surprised. We ordered a sharing platter (chicken and chorizo kebabs and pork balls cooked with orange and spices) which were delicious! We returned last night for an evening meal and it was fabulous! When we arrived the friendly waitress asked if we wanted a drink at the bar whilst we looked at the menu, we opted to go straight to our table. After we ordered a chef brought us an amuse bouche each which was very tasty. We had the sharing platter again because we both loved it along with a selection of other tapas dishes. We were given freshly baked bread with our meal which was great for mopping up the delicious sauces. The food was excellent! The music was also great, a good selection of Spanish music. We were too full for dessert but managed to squeeze in the complimentary chocolate covered lolly cake that the chef sent for us. What a wonderful evening, we can't wait to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank auntysoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Farnley Tyas, Huddersfield
Stocksmoor, Huddersfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing