We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herbert's Bar

Herbert's Bar
Ranked #90 of 568 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Herbert's is a locally reared bar that delivers quality ales, beers, food and fun! Pop in you will be happy!
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just wonderful !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you find yourself in Huddersfield, then you MUST get yourself to Herberts. OMG, , the staff are so so nice and incredibly warm and helpful. The setting is American industrial loft , and the food is all cooked fresh. From homemade sauces and pesto to adorn your food plate. The prices and quality are second to none. I guarantee you leave there fit to bursting. Just LOVE !!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bangers & Betty Swallocks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Wandering round Huddersfield I took to TA to see what was nearby and any good... Up popped Herberts only 250m away so in we went. A large open bar/dining area with soulful music playing... Looked great these kinds of places are often up their own backsides... Not this one. The chunky table and chairs (from churches by the look of it) were well spaced. The menu was split into sections... British. Mediterranean.. American etc... Made for easy reading and the prices appeared very good.
My other half ordered the panini I plumped for my favourite Bangers and Mash at just £7.50 I wasn't sure what to expect... All I can say is WOW... I have paid up to £18 for sausage and mash (it's an addiction!) but this was as good if not better than any other, creamy buttery mash with wholegrain mustard. Sausages of fabulous quality and an onion marmalade which complimented the rich gravy perfectly. The food was served on enamelled tin plates... Nice touch... Eton mess to follow was delicious. All this was washed down with a very nice pale ale... Named Betty Swallocks (fnar fnar) All in all very good town centre bar/restaurant serving good quality food and priced to compete with the mass produce muck served by Weatherspoons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the better places for a drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Been to Herbert's a couple of times but only for a drink - both on a Saturday night. Good range of beers, nice wine and good cocktails, too. Better for a pre-drink as opposed to going to the likes of Vodka Revolution and Tokyo but still a nice place. Great music, nice atmosphere and lovely decor. Would definitely recommend, a very nice spot on a road that frankly doesn't look up to much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink or food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Walked past this place a few times and decided to go in and try it out. Well decorated and good selection of beers and food. Service was prompt and polite. Ordered fish and chips and was not disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrRandex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here for lunch with my friend now most weeks for over a year now but never thought to write a review.
This place serves top quality food cooked to perfection at reasonable prices with good coffee with prompt excellent service tat why we keep going back. Who wouldn't ? Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herbert's Bar also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Herbert's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing