We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!”
Review of Herbert's Bar

Herbert's Bar
Ranked #106 of 577 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Herbert's is a locally reared bar that delivers quality ales, beers, food and fun! Pop in you will be happy!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Been here twice now and have really enjoyed it. The most recent time I had the chicken enchiladas and I must say it was so good!!
Would definitely recommend this place. Didn't even know it was here until someone told me about it.
Nice atmosphere and the food is really quite cheap!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennarr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Pint! Nice Panini! ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visit for lunch with a work colleague.
Overall an enjoyable visit with a nicely prepared sandwich washed down by a pint of lovely real ale!
Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Truereds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield-england
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friday drinks ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Come here most Fridays after work for a couple of beers. Friendly staff. Great food. Good atmosphere.

Recently had pil pil prawns on the special board. Was fantastic.

Great place.

Helpful?
Thank liamf_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just wonderful !!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

If you find yourself in Huddersfield, then you MUST get yourself to Herberts. OMG, , the staff are so so nice and incredibly warm and helpful. The setting is American industrial loft , and the food is all cooked fresh. From homemade sauces and pesto to adorn your food plate. The prices and quality are second to none. I guarantee you leave there fit to bursting. Just LOVE !!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bangers & Betty Swallocks!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Wandering round Huddersfield I took to TA to see what was nearby and any good... Up popped Herberts only 250m away so in we went. A large open bar/dining area with soulful music playing... Looked great these kinds of places are often up their own backsides... Not this one. The chunky table and chairs (from churches by the look of it) were well spaced. The menu was split into sections... British. Mediterranean.. American etc... Made for easy reading and the prices appeared very good.
My other half ordered the panini I plumped for my favourite Bangers and Mash at just £7.50 I wasn't sure what to expect... All I can say is WOW... I have paid up to £18 for sausage and mash (it's an addiction!) but this was as good if not better than any other, creamy buttery mash with wholegrain mustard. Sausages of fabulous quality and an onion marmalade which complimented the rich gravy perfectly. The food was served on enamelled tin plates... Nice touch... Eton mess to follow was delicious. All this was washed down with a very nice pale ale... Named Betty Swallocks (fnar fnar) All in all very good town centre bar/restaurant serving good quality food and priced to compete with the mass produce muck served by Weatherspoons.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herbert's Bar also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Herbert's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing