We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY IMPRESSED!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Foresters Arms

The Foresters Arms
Ranked #96 of 572 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in a rural village location the Foresters Arms is a hidden gem! We are a family run business with over 25 years in the food and hospitality industry. With Greg at the helm, Dawn running the kitchen and a great team of chefs and waiting staff, we strive to make your dining experience not only enjoyable and friendly but somewhere you will feel right at home! All our food is homemade by our team of trained chefs using the freshest, highest quality ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. If asked to describe our food, we’d say simple, high quality home-cooking with nods to Italy and France, served up with a modern twist. We look forward to seeing you.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“VERY IMPRESSED!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having not visited the foresters for quite a long while (our last experience was not that great)I can only say how impressed we were with the place.
The beer garden is brilliant, especially as it was a lovely day.
Inside has changed very much for the better, it still has that country pub feel but has lost it old fashioned and a little dated look, and is now clean and smart.
And then to the food a very good menu something for every taste and excellent value for money.
Great service staff friendly and helpful.
The food we ordered was exceptional and we will definitely return again soon.
Great to see the foresters doing so well thanks for breathing new life into the place again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmofud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    61
    32
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great food shame about the misbehaving children”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we went for our wedding anniversary had a lovely meal but the service was terrible really badly behaving children spoiled our night though Iblame the parents the management should have stopped the awful disturbence for all the diners so foresters get your act together and make it a place for diners to enjoy the food and have a relaxing night thanks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve133333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jess g, Owner at The Foresters Arms, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi, We appreciate you taking time to leave review, i do apologise that your visit was not what you would have hoped.
I can understand that as a couple on a table a large booking of 20 would seem disruptive when young children are part of that party, when reserving tables we are not always aware of the ages of the party, should we have known in advance we would have put your table of two elsewhere.
Having talked to team members who were on duty i understand you were offered an alternative table and the party in question had a member of management politely chat with them about their children.
Being a ' family friendly' pub we do allow children in the dining areas, we trust that parents will supervise children and be considerate of fellow diners,when this is not the case management do step in and have a polite word as was the case on that evening.
I am sincerely sorry you felt the service was terrible, We would like to discuss the matter further you can contact me or Jeff via email: theforestersarmslc@aol.co.uk or by phone 01484 868225.
Kindest Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“newly refurbed, excellent food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have drove past weekly watching the refurbed and was excited when we saw it was finally open. We had club sandwich and steak sandwich to share, both excellent. Good lunchtime meal, will definitely go again. Very extensive menu, well priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jess g, Owner at The Foresters Arms, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, We are pleased you enjoyed your visit here and i am rather partial to our yummy sandwiches too!!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A superb country pub worth a visit!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We are delighted to say the newly revamped Foresters Arms at Lower Cumberworth has been well worth the wait! What an improvement not only in interior decor (now all beautiful tartans and subtle paintwork) and disabled/pram access but also with a superb outdoor seating area with quality wooden tables, not to mention the tasty food on offer at very reasonable prices ... we have been impressed on 3 occasions now by the quality of the children's fish, chips and peas. Jeff, Jess and all the staff are friendly and helpful, always welcoming of young children which is brilliant - high chairs are available. There is a lovely atmosphere about the place now, we will definitely be supporting The Foresters Arms! Well worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Char029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jess g, Owner at The Foresters Arms, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review, We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, we are rather proud of our new refurb' and are pleased to hear it has the family friendly atmosphere we hoped for.
We hope to see you all soon.
jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just popped in”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and i thought we would call in after being walking in north yorkshire for the morning. We only live in the next village so we were passing on our way home. We were greeted with a very helpful and friendly member of bar staff who was very polite. He did not recognise me but i know him and his brother as i used to go to school with jason. It was a nice friendly atmosphere and are looking forward to calling back in the future

Helpful?
Thank sakgpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jess g, Owner at The Foresters Arms, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi, Thank you for leaving us a review, We are pleased you enjoyed your visit.
We hope to see you again soon.
jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foresters Arms also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Denby Dale, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing