We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish pub/restaurant right in the centre of town”

Northern Taps Kitchen Ale and Cider House
Ranked #84 of 572 Restaurants in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Providing locally sourced produce since 2012. Food and Ales proud to be from the north. We are open 7 days a week from 10:30am. With our Rekorderlig Suit we offer private dinning or a great place to have a party!! Pop in for a drink or food, you will love it!
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“A stylish pub/restaurant right in the centre of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers! It's not easy to find a good lunch in Huddersfield town centre so looked for recommendations on TA and found this pub/restaurant.

It's a stylish cafe/restaurant/bar with lots of character, from the decor to the soul music playing in the background and on a very warm day, it was lovely that the doors open wide enough for you to be almost outside. Very Continental! Unlike a lot of restaurants, the tables weren't too close together and I appreciated the comfortable chairs.

There's a varied menu, with plenty of choice without feeling overwhelmed and we really enjoyed our food - traditional home-made fish pie with plenty of salmon, white fish and prawns, hard boiled egg and buttery mashed potato. Substantial portions and excellent value at £9.

I think this could quickly become a favourite place to eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claribelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    54
    14
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family and I enjoyed a delicious meal at Northern Taps last night. My partner enjoyed the Yorkshire Ring and I had a the Tap Beef Burger. Our children shared the bratwurst. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the service was very good as well. If we come back to Huddersfield, we will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nichole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Once you have eaten here you will definitely be back for more.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a 'happy pub/restaurant' you just feel good to be there. It has a great atmosphere and a personality all of it's own, very different to many of the pubs in this area. Whether you have breakfast, lunch or dinner you will find the food excellent. The owners take great pride in sourcing the food locally from trusted suppliers. I can personally recommend one of the lagers, it is called Saint and is a British lager. Once tasted you will be hooked. The staff are attentive and work hard to make sure you get terrific service. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere on a Saturday afternoon. Great wine. Clientele more mature and discerning. Love this place.

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brillian place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

One of the best place to eat in Huddersfield. Proffessionally run and discreet, great beer choice and fabulous food - we have eaten here 4 times and every time it has been great,
toilets are clean too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FuzzyTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Taps Kitchen Ale and Cider House also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Northern Taps Kitchen Ale and Cider House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing